Bohemian Burble

= A socially unconventional person.

79 Down

Leave a comment

These are not my feet.

So while we were frolicking along to the different departments for my pre-surgery gig … I was weighed numerous times. And to my great shock, I had actually lost more weight on my own!!!!

Since October 2010, I have successfully lost 79 lbs and have not gained a pound back. I have a wonderful health coach to thank and yet another great dietitian to also thank. Both ladies, I see every 5-6 weeks and they have been instrumental in helping me lose the weight.

Some may be thinking… why the surgery then? Because since February 2008, my Type 2 diabetes has been very out of control. I even started taking Zumba classes in January 2012 … thinking going twice a week would lower my glucose levels … but it never happened. My triglycerides are sky high. I have high blood pressure and high cholesterol and I have severe sleep apnea (since 2004). I really do not like the idea of sporting a CPAP mask for the rest of my life either. I have also been witness to what severe diabetes can do to one’s body and it literally scared me to death.

My father died at the age of 67, fourteen years ago, with the same health issues as I have. Countless cousins have the same health problems too. And I just don’t want to pass the time away, waiting to see if I will out live 67. July 17th, I will be 45 years old. I have had a blast thus far being a member of Club 40. And I look forward to the next five years:  being healthy, being thinner and praying I will be OFF ALL diabetic medications and off of my CPAP machine. After that, I hope to live till I am a 102 … and on my death bed, I hope my final words will be, “I’ve had the time of my life.”

Author: kirtepa

My 8-year quest of being BANDED finally happened on June 27, 2012!!! While it will be nice to shed some pounds, my number one goal is to get HEALTHY ... And to get off ALL my diabetic meds and not have to rely on my CPAP at night and for naps. A few years back I made a decision to only surround myself with positive people and I have never looked back. At times I may be snarky perhaps a little wonky and I will apologize right now if I offend anyone as I blog about my life as I know it. Peace & love to all of my wonderful supporters.

Leave a Reply

