Bohemian Burble

= A socially unconventional person.

It is OFFICIAL: I’ve been BANDED!!!!

Leave a comment

This morning, June 27, 2012, I was officially BANDED!!!!

I was placed in recovery around 1050 and I was in Room 3027 at 12Noon. I successfully ate my three lunch entrees of jello, broth and apple juice in the 20 minute allotted time and I was up and walking the hallways around 1300. Then I was allowed to put back on my real clothes and was told I could be discharged as soon as I saw fit.

After more strolling down the corridors at Avera Queen of Peace Hospital — AN AMAZING HOSPITAL I might add in Mitchell, SD …. We told our awesome nurse, AMY, that we’d like to be discharged around 1400 … She placed the call … and we waited. And waited. And waited. I took a snooze … did my hourly breathing exercises that I am to do from the Respitory Therapists for two weeks every hour on the hour ….and she showed me how to cough properly too.

I was given a supper tray with the same items of jello, broth and apple juice…. and those went down without a hitch too … and finally at 1900, Dr. Haley magically appeared (after his 7th surgery was completed) and released me to reality!!! But I got great photos to post too. Tomorrow my dears, tomorrow!!!

We got to Tyndall and I walked nicely into my apartment to get my Apidra insulin… going up and down the stairs was really easy to do … and we made it to Springfield around 2045. I am not allowed to lift anything for two full weeks and not allowed to drive for a week. So after getting our gunk into my mom’s house … We went on the paved walking trail and walked a bit.

I was told the area between my shoulders would really ache due to the excess gas from the procedure and sure enough, on the way back on the walking trail, that annoyance kicked in. I have more pain in that vicinity and my throat now that I do of the actual five pokes on my belly!!!

This was THE GREATEST EXPERIENCE of my life. Seriously… I am now putting this first over my being a nanny in Massachusetts in 1989-1990. I had THE BEST surgical team, the best RNs and CNAs and staff ever. And if you are all reading this, YOU ALL ROCK!!!! And everyone treated my mom with the utmost respect and kindness too.

Two weeks of full liquid diet, here I come!!!!

Author: kirtepa

My 8-year quest of being BANDED finally happened on June 27, 2012!!! While it will be nice to shed some pounds, my number one goal is to get HEALTHY ... And to get off ALL my diabetic meds and not have to rely on my CPAP at night and for naps. A few years back I made a decision to only surround myself with positive people and I have never looked back. At times I may be snarky perhaps a little wonky and I will apologize right now if I offend anyone as I blog about my life as I know it. Peace & love to all of my wonderful supporters.

Leave a Reply

