Bohemian Burble

= A socially unconventional person.

Making It Up As I Go

Leave a comment

My whole day is almost complete and I must say … this gastric lap band thing is pretty darn cool. And so is making up my menus for each meal too.

Like I said in this morning’s post, I felt a bit on the wonky side when I woke up and I still felt that way all day long.

My lunch consisted of 1/2 cup of already prepared black bean and salsa “soup” I invented last night along with 1/2 cup of cherry jello and water.

I took a long snooze and that helped some. And then I wanted to test out my driving skills. I now can see why driving is NOT allowed for one week after surgery!!!

Springfield is a dinky rural hamlet on the bluff of the Missouri River. We have no stop lights. No fast food joints. A lot of churches and a former college campus that was turned into a state prison. That’s the extent of my village. Oh, we do have a Casey’s General Store too.

All I had hopes of was motoring down into the village and getting a couple cans of black beans and some sweet potatoes.But once out of the house, I felt the need to cruise the village. And then I was hit with a wave of wooziness and wanted it to be sleepy-time right then and there.

So once back at my mom’s … I laid low. It was suggested that I also lay off the black beans tonight for supper too … so I decided to bake a sweet potato in the oven. Then I peeled off the skin and stuck the yam in to the blender. I pureed the heck out of it and took one cup of the mush into my bowl. The key to this is to microwave the pureed goop super hot (it’ll then last the full 20 minutes allotted time to eat it).

Once in front of me, I sprinkled a small amount of Parmesan cheese on top .. and I was ready to eat. I set the timer this time too. Twenty-four minutes later, I had finished my one cup of hot sweet potato puree and two large glasses of ice cold water.

I’m full once again. Seriously, people who know me … who would’ve thought that I’d be full on just one cup of hot mush??? But I am.

And life is good.

Author: kirtepa

My 8-year quest of being BANDED finally happened on June 27, 2012!!! While it will be nice to shed some pounds, my number one goal is to get HEALTHY ... And to get off ALL my diabetic meds and not have to rely on my CPAP at night and for naps. A few years back I made a decision to only surround myself with positive people and I have never looked back. At times I may be snarky perhaps a little wonky and I will apologize right now if I offend anyone as I blog about my life as I know it. Peace & love to all of my wonderful supporters.

Leave a Reply

