Bohemian Burble

= A socially unconventional person.

Today I am 45 and Loving It

Leave a comment

Happy happy birthday to me 🙂

Can you tell how much I love celebrating my own birthday??? I do. Every single minute of it. Every year and I always give or send out reminders to anyone with ears 🙂

I am headed to the largest “city” in South Dakota today for those of you who are not familiar to life on the prairie. I currently live in a town of about 1300. South Dakota doesn’t even have a million folks in it either. But today, I’m going to the “city” which is 90 miles away and maybe has 345,000 humans there. Not large by any means but large enough for this prairie girl!!! I am also eating out for the first time as a “bander” too.

Twenty-years ago today, I was living in College Station, Texas … I celebrated my 25th birthday at Six Flags Over Texas for three days. I had the time of my life on the rides and stuff but not with the person I was with.

Ten years ago today, I announced to myself and the readers of the Yankton Press & Dakotan where I was a newspaper reporter at that I was simply going to be “happy,” no matter what. I had a few bumps in the road in the past ten years but I’ve not changed my mind on being happy. [I am no longer a reporter at the P&D, just a FYI]

Present date, I’m still happy. Simply be: I am happy God has allowed me to live to be 45. The last two years with my Type 2 diabetes has been extremely rough. My glucose sugars had been steady in the high 400s and 500s. Yup. Coma zone. It wasn’t funny and I’m not trying to be funny now. It was the god-awful horrific truth.

Two weeks and now six days after my surgery, my sugars are now in the 100s. Awesome eh? And all the weirdness with my diabetes have all but vanished including the immense swelling in my legs and hands.

So happy happy birthday to me 🙂

Author: kirtepa

My 8-year quest of being BANDED finally happened on June 27, 2012!!! While it will be nice to shed some pounds, my number one goal is to get HEALTHY ... And to get off ALL my diabetic meds and not have to rely on my CPAP at night and for naps. A few years back I made a decision to only surround myself with positive people and I have never looked back. At times I may be snarky perhaps a little wonky and I will apologize right now if I offend anyone as I blog about my life as I know it. Peace & love to all of my wonderful supporters.

Leave a Reply

