Bohemian Burble

= A socially unconventional person.

1st Fill: A Success But …

1 Comment

A whirlwind of a morning I had. I got a call from Dr. Haley’s office telling me that he had to do emergency surgery this afternoon when my original appointment was to have been and could I come in early? Yes but it was a scramble as I was at work and had to get home and rearrange a few things but yes I could be there at 12noon.

It was 1015 when I got the call and that meant I had to leave at 1045 to get there on time. Mitchell is one hour away without traffic or issues on the road like construction or farmers rolling like turtles on the road.

My Aunt came with me and I made it at 1201 to his office. Right away I told them about losing the sizes in my clothes and I apologized for not getting a bigger drop in weight …. and they said that they hadn’t expected that from me. Ah what??? Then everything that Invisible Ink and Dandy Bandy were originally told about … was told to me. Again six weeks after the fact. BUT!!! They were impressed with the amount I was able to lose and keep it off  That news made my whole six weeks feel like a WIN WIN too!!!

Still I forged on. I was laying on the table and my doctor could not feel the port. I apparently still have excess swelling around my port as well as a lot of fluid still trapped around the port. He kept feeling, pushing around, feeling … then said that I would need to go to the hospital to get an X-ray done and he’d meet me there.

We motored across Mitchell and got signed in. I encouraged my Aunt to come with me to watch the entire procedure — everyone was okay with the whole situation. She got suited up in a lead apron and had some coffee cake to munch on — Just like Kramer did with his Junior Mints in an episode of Seinfeld.

Watching it all take place on the X-ray thingy was really really cool. Dr. Haley put in 6cc’s of saline, then had me sit up and I drank two glasses of water. I could immediately tell the difference that I was tighter but it didn’t hurt just felt a little funky. He said my band is a large and I could get up to 15cc’s in there but then my stomach opening would be the size of a pin head and who would want that?

My Aunt and I hoofed it out of the hospital and got to the parking lot and that funky feeling came back so we sat in my air conditioned car and I slowly took sips of water till the feeling passed.

The new set of rules that I received are:

Post-Fill Instructions
  1. Clear liquids for 12 hours (broth, low calorie drinks)
  2. Soft, mushy foods for the next 12 hours after that (mashed potatoes, applesauce, puddings)
  3. AND After that, you may work your way back to “normal” foods.

This is easy enough to follow! My next fill will be Wednesday, September 19th with the PA named Nathan. I am going to make up a workout schedule to follow and hope to kick it up a notch or two for better results in the next 40 days!!!

This is what my Bento box looks like but it is pink & yellow.

I have a company summer social to attend tonight and they are serving burgers and brats. I’m fine with that. I am going to socialize and will bring along one of my cute Bento boxes. I had asked HR earlier if it was okay to take a brat home for later and they said yes. So I won’t have to miss out tonight … but I will have to miss out on the salsa tasting (contest) tonight… my favorite part! Again no worries. My lap band comes first 🙂

Author: kirtepa

My 8-year quest of being BANDED finally happened on June 27, 2012!!! While it will be nice to shed some pounds, my number one goal is to get HEALTHY ... And to get off ALL my diabetic meds and not have to rely on my CPAP at night and for naps. A few years back I made a decision to only surround myself with positive people and I have never looked back. At times I may be snarky perhaps a little wonky and I will apologize right now if I offend anyone as I blog about my life as I know it. Peace & love to all of my wonderful supporters.

One thought on “1st Fill: A Success But …

  1. Yay for your first fill!!! I'm glad your Dr. told you FINALLY what mine did!! Better late than never I guess! 🙂 Hopefully you will start seeing all your hardwark paying off on the scale now. But even so, the loss in inches is great! 🙂

Leave a Reply

