Bohemian Burble

= A socially unconventional person.

Invented My Own Concoction Tonight

2 Comments

This is really my kitchen and my knife in the Bisquick.

Being nearly a two-month bandster has me doing all sorts of functions and tasks that I would never ever done prior to having the surgery. Like cooking and baking and mixing things other than ripping off a Smart One cardboard entree tab or peeling off the plastic to a frozen pizza and shoving it in the oven. But here I was last night and tonight going through recipes fit for any lap bandster around.

In the small Crock Pot to the left is a hot chicken dip which consists of two packages of cream cheese (got on sale at Gemar’s for $1.29 each) and two small containers of green chili’s also on sale for 69 cents each. And last week my mom cut up a nice chicken breast into small strips. I put everything in to the Crock Pot and set it on high. Oh and I added my own fresh garlic bits from the jar and two big shakes of red pepper flakes for a kick of flavor. Crikey, will you listen to me talk like I know what I am doing???

This is from my actual kitchen. Can you see my red tea kettle?

Then I bought some Bisquick tonight — also on sale — and I had absolutely no idea what the hell I was doing with that!!! So I found the biscuit recipe on the back and decided I’d make biscuits. And then I didn’t want to appear like an idiot and call someone about making them so I read the recipe and decided that wouldn’t be enough. So I kind of just faked it and threw it all together with some milk.

So the top photo is of the hot dip and then the bowl with the knife in it is the Bisquick mix. I also gave two big shakes of red pepper flakes in for shits and giggles too.

This is my actual end product. Who wants one?

And even though the back of the Bisquick box specifically said to NOT spray the muffin tin with spray, I decided to be a rebel and I sprayed the hell out of the pan. Hey, I want to be able to get the little concoctions out you know!!!!

So the second photo is of the product before baking. I put the Bisquick spoonful in the bottom and then I scooped in the hot chicken dip on top.

Again bad planning on my part — remember I am extremely inexperienced in this baking/cooking thing … I did manage to pass Home Economics in 11th grade with a D- ….I cannot sew to save my life or for that matter cook. 

A side note here … in 1989, I was a nanny to a family from Canada who also happened to be Buddhists who were living in Gloucester, Massachusetts. My second night there, the mom handed me a vegetarian cookbook and gave me the keys to her Izuzu Trooper and some cash and told me to get the ingredients for Eggplant Parmesan to make for the family. Yup. But I made it. And they loved it. And I was their cook for the following eleven-months and their laundress person and their taxi and many other mindless titles. My favorite dish to make when the vegetarian mom was working late every Thursday night was Shake’n Bake chicken and alphabet fries (they come frozen).

Back to tonight’s creation …. the third photo is my end product. I wasn’t quite sure how long to let them bake, so I just stood there like a good Ingall’s girl on the prairie waiting for their porridge to get done. I am known to leave whatever is cookin’ or baking and forget completely about it while playing Scrabble online. So I didn’t want to miss anything. I am currently letting the muffin tin “cool down,” as I know that is what my mom or some other skilled baker would do.

I promised one of my cronies that I’d bring her one to try tomorrow. Jesus, what have I done??? She doesn’t know about my background either!!!  I am no way near being hungry but I will have to try one of these babies before bedtime to make sure the Bisquick got cooked all the way through.

Do they make cookbooks for idiots?

The final muffins turned out amazing!!!!

To the right are three plates filled with my creamy chicken dip Bisquick muffin. I couldn’t believe how easy it was to slip them out of the muffin tin — thanks to my generic Pam spray!!!

My photography skills were kicked up a notch with the final photo … I got down to the same level as the non-breakfast muffin of yumminess.

Once I bit into one of these babies… the ooziness of the hot chicken dip squished all around my mouth in complete awesomeness.

The end product. PERFECTO!!!! Tasted yummy!!!

And I was shocked to see how great the biscuit portion was too. I am so proud of myself for not royally mucking this up!!!

I wonder if Mrs. Koupal (my Home Ec teacher) would be excited to see I didn’t burn anything this time around!!! She lives in town you know! I must call my mom before I hit the sheets! I am such a dork! Goodnight All.

Author: kirtepa

My 8-year quest of being BANDED finally happened on June 27, 2012!!! While it will be nice to shed some pounds, my number one goal is to get HEALTHY ... And to get off ALL my diabetic meds and not have to rely on my CPAP at night and for naps. A few years back I made a decision to only surround myself with positive people and I have never looked back. At times I may be snarky perhaps a little wonky and I will apologize right now if I offend anyone as I blog about my life as I know it. Peace & love to all of my wonderful supporters.

2 thoughts on “Invented My Own Concoction Tonight

  1. That looks super tasty!

  2. That looks delish! I wonder how many calories and protein are in those puppies…

Leave a Reply

