Bohemian Burble

= A socially unconventional person.

Thanksgiving

Leave a comment

This morning I met two of my former assistants from The Boys & Girls Club in Yankton (SD). I was one of five site coordinators during the school years of 2009-2010 and 2010-2011 before resigning December 2010 to take my current job here in Tyndall. The elementary school where I worked was Lincoln Elementary. I would be there every school morning at 0500AM and I would be with children until school would start. Then I would return when school got out and would stay until 1800 or 1815 if parents were running late.

While there, I had two amazing assistants: Roberta and Mary. Both are grandmother’s and were and are wonderfully kind and loving people. After I left back in December of 2010, I promised them I would keep in touch. And that was one of the most important things about them. They were hard to forget. And thankfully I have kept my promise as today we met for “coffee,” even though Mary was the only one to drink it. I opted for an unsweetened ice tea and Roberta just enjoyed our company.

I left my apartment with only a water bottle. I wasn’t hungry when I left so I didn’t want to force myself to eat anything. I was listening to my band. When Mary and I saw each other, a big hug was given on both sides. I love Mary because she just loves to talk. And talk and talk. And she has a great laugh.

However, we were standing in line to pay and she grabbed a big ole sugary donut. She asked if I wanted one. My honest answer and my gut answer was “no thanks.” And honestly, it did not even appeal to me. I just looked at it and thought, “….Ew, that would take care of breakfast and lunch in calories….”. I was so proud of myself for thinking about my band first and for calculating how much exercise I would have to do to get that out of my body and off my body!!!

While she ate and drank… I sat there with my ice tea listening as she caught me up on the details of what I had been missing since I left that organization. She finished up her goodies and I barely drank any tea, when Roberta showed up.

As I was explaining my lap band journey to them, something funny was said by Mary. “What are you going to do at Thanksgiving time?” she said. I told her it was my holiday to work and I would eat what I normally ate at Thanksgiving. Which was “not much.” But I explained to them what Bento boxes were and how I would plan to put different protein and veggies in each section. And that would be my “Thanksgiving” meal at lunch time this November.

The expressions on their faces were simply priceless. It was more like stunned but as I was telling them I eat about 10 ounces of food for each meal and I’m fairly satisfied after the fact. I tried to tell them about being stuck in the Yellow Zone right now but I could tell I was losing them fast.

But I want to educate my friends and anyone really … I want everyone to be aware that we’re not dieting we are simply changing our lifestyle of eating. My morning was sweet. It was just so nice to be around these ladies today. I felt so very loved.

Author: kirtepa

My 8-year quest of being BANDED finally happened on June 27, 2012!!! While it will be nice to shed some pounds, my number one goal is to get HEALTHY ... And to get off ALL my diabetic meds and not have to rely on my CPAP at night and for naps. A few years back I made a decision to only surround myself with positive people and I have never looked back. At times I may be snarky perhaps a little wonky and I will apologize right now if I offend anyone as I blog about my life as I know it. Peace & love to all of my wonderful supporters.

Leave a Reply

