Bohemian Burble

= A socially unconventional person.

Old Haunts & Great Outcomes

Leave a comment

Today my role for the day was “driver of surgery patient.” And that patient was my mother. I drove her to one of my most favorite hospitals in the US, Lewis & Clark Specialty Hospital in Yankton, SD …. After seeing her nurse, I fled to get a well deserved pedicure (bright fuchsia with silver glitter) … and load up on my favorite snack of Dakota sunflower seeds.

Yes my surgeon specifically said no seeds or nuts, this is my one addiction that I refuse to give up and have YET to get stuck and cause any issues … plus it keeps me from snacking while watching my grueling reality shows.

I also ate Chinese for lunch while waiting for the patient to recover from surgery too. I mainly slurped down some Hot Sour soup and ate a few bites of Indian chicken — which was divine 🙂 …. much much later this evening I’ll drink down a vanilla whey protein shake from the blender to even everything out … and I’m already calling tomorrow and Thursday AM a protein blender day too. Remember I’m getting my 3rd fill on the 27th (my 3rd month anniversary of my own surgery).

The patient is recovering just dandy now …. she’s not to use her right hand until Friday at least!!! But you can send her well wishes at czechtrik@gmail.com if you so desire.

Any who, while eating Chinese, my former supervisor from the hellish call center, sat down facing me with her spouse. She got up and came over to where I was sitting and asked if had lost weight … I proudly said 90 pounds since we last saw each other in 2009 … she was proud of me and encouraged me on … quite a big difference from when I used to be on her team and all … I don’t recall her ever being kind to me …. but I was happy she acknowledged my hard work in my shrinking abilities.

In the past, whenever I saw her, I would suck in my breath until she walked passed me — praying she wouldn’t see me or make a comment … but today, was nice and quaint. And I learned she’s no longer stuck in Hell anymore either. And what a relief to learn she got out in 2010. Small victories come at the strangest of times it seems.

Still it was nice to get a compliment last night and again this afternoon. It’s nice to have people notice my hard work is paying off.

And back at the hospital while my mom was getting her discharge instructions, the RN gave her a super cute T-shirt thanking her for choosing their hospital and then she presented one for me too. And when she said, “How about a size 2X?” I about hugged her!!!! Yes, yes, I’m now a size 2X!!!

God Bless Thee everyone.

Author: kirtepa

My 8-year quest of being BANDED finally happened on June 27, 2012!!! While it will be nice to shed some pounds, my number one goal is to get HEALTHY ... And to get off ALL my diabetic meds and not have to rely on my CPAP at night and for naps. A few years back I made a decision to only surround myself with positive people and I have never looked back. At times I may be snarky perhaps a little wonky and I will apologize right now if I offend anyone as I blog about my life as I know it. Peace & love to all of my wonderful supporters.

Leave a Reply

