Bohemian Burble

= A socially unconventional person.

Mindlessbanter

3 Comments

  • I wish I liked eating oatmeal. I think I’d like the banana nut kind but the other kinds make me feel like I am Cinderella before she became Cinderella and was stuck cleaning the chimney. [Translation: crappy porridge = gross stale taste]
  • I do not miss drinking carbonated drinks.
  • Or using straws.
  • I live in a village that shuts down basically at 9PM every night.
  • There are plenty of churches here too but only two bars, two gas stations and no fast food unless you count a family-owned Dairy Queen that doesn’t serve what other “chained” Dairy Queens have on their vast menus.
  • I get a lot of compliments on my very short hair style. I love it 🙂
  • To save time in my morning routine, I brush my teeth in the shower. I learned this from Kramer on SEINFELD back in the 1990s.
  • I miss being a “human interest” reporter for the Yankton Press & Dakotan and The Missouri Valley Observer.
  • I have been blogging since 2003.
  • I am fascinated by true crime cases/books, ghost stories and haunted places.
  • There is nothing like a really good grilled cheese sandwich and a cup of tomato soup to warm the tummy on a cold day.
  • Get me to a garage sale soon!
  • Some folks think I took “the easy way out” by getting the lap band surgery done. [Note to everyone: the lap band is so not the easy way out]
  • I love fuzzy socks.
  • I shower in the AMs and take baths in the PMs.
  • My ginormous turbo fan that I had aimed at my bed every night for the past 5 years just died.
  • I wish I had a luxurious bathroom with a jacuzzi tub.
  • This is the first summer in like 13 years that I did not can salsa or pickles.
  • Have I mentioned how much I love living in Tyndall, South Dakota recently???
  • I love living in Tyndall, South Dakota.
  • I do not like getting food or liquids stuck above my lap band.
  • I do not like up chucking my food or liquids either from the above mentioned statement.
  • I do like having my clothes get baggier and baggier as each day passes.
  • For $26.50, I pamper myself every two months or so by getting pedicures done at Rose Nails in Yankton.
  • Since about 7th grade, I’ve been sporting obnoxious nail polish colors on my finger nails …
  • I love the smell of fresh baked bread.
  • I wish our Wellness Center had a swimming pool in town.
  • I don’t like to sweep.
  • Or mop.
  • I bought a new address book about two weeks ago and I have yet to fill it in.
  • I finally GET IT when my surgeon and his staff told me to really really really chew up all of my food on each and every bite. With actually having restrictions now with my 8.5cc band … if I do not chew everything down to the size of a piece of salt .. it will get stuck and seriously folks… that pain is so not enjoyable.
  • With the ending of my three month Wellness Center membership looming on October 16th…..Next Wednesday evening, I will resume going to Zumba classes.
Author: kirtepa

My 8-year quest of being BANDED finally happened on June 27, 2012!!! While it will be nice to shed some pounds, my number one goal is to get HEALTHY ... And to get off ALL my diabetic meds and not have to rely on my CPAP at night and for naps. A few years back I made a decision to only surround myself with positive people and I have never looked back. At times I may be snarky perhaps a little wonky and I will apologize right now if I offend anyone as I blog about my life as I know it. Peace & love to all of my wonderful supporters.

3 thoughts on “Mindlessbanter

  1. I’ve never had a problem with straws – I actually find it a touch easier to drink with a straw, because I’m a spazz who will spill the entire drink down my front without a straw.

    It drives me nuts that there’s not one standardized list of things that you can’t have/use. I’ve heard that some people aren’t allowed to use NSAIDs, but when I asked my surgeon’s practice, the nurse looked at me like I had 3 heads and said, “Of course you can.”

  2. Oh wow…both my surgeon, his two RNs and two dietitians ALL told me absolutely NO STRAWS whatsoever. I tried it once since June 27th and afterwards I had a lot of gas build up and I burped all day. It’s also written on a few of my hand outs. Crazy!!!!

  3. I specifically asked my surgeon about straws, because they weren’t mentioned in any of his literature or instructions, but I’d seen mention of other bandsters not being allowed to use them. He said that there’s no problem with his patients using straws. Yet another example of how inconsistent lap band instructions are from practice to practice!

Leave a Reply

