Bohemian Burble

= A socially unconventional person.

Breaker One Nine

Leave a comment

Breaker Breaker One Nine, this is Apple Sauce.

Back in the 1970s when my folks broke down and joined the CB radio revolution, we all came up with our own CB “handles.” Mine was Apple Sauce.

My birth name is Amy Susan. So I took my two initials and made it into Apple Sauce. Catchy eh? I thought it was pretty clever for a 10-year-old back in 1977.

And if my memory serves me correct, I believe we had our CB radio in our lime metallic colored, two-door Maverick. It was the bomb. The CB radio AND our Maverick.

So back at the Catholic church last night while I was patiently waiting for my turn in line to get my looks captured on film … several “curious” Catholics approached me and asked if I still worked at the hospital.

Dumbfounded, I said yes. Then my own curiosity got the better of me and I asked why they thought I was no longer there.

They all said it was because they no longer saw my “INKY” vanity license plates on my red Ford Focus parked along the street/in the parking lot. Photo on the right is the back-end of my actual vehicle. And for the past five years or so, “INKY” has sported the back-end of my car.

Oh-My-Gawd!!!!! Gotta love Small Town America!!!!

I promise you later today, I am going to take a photo of the distance between my apartment building and the location of the hospital where I work and I will post it.

As a side note: my childhood nickname is “INKY.” ….I think my brothers started calling me that somewhere around the time of the purchase of the CB radio. And it has stuck all these years later.

Okay … back to the “curious” church goers and my employment status.

From December 27, 2010, when I started my full-time gig at the hospital till around May 2012, I would drive from my hut to the hospital.

Now mind you, from December 27th until end of January 2011, I was living with my mom in Springfield but then I was living in Tyndall. And yes, I was beyond lazy and I drove every time I went to work. Not because it was too cold or too hot or too windy out or even too icy out. It was all because I was lazy and I simply did NOT want to walk the long journey!

Remember when I met with Dr. Haley, my bariatric surgeon, on April 12, 2012. And it took a month to get everything approved for the actual surgery. And once that happened, we scheduled my lap band surgery for June 27th.

Mid-May or so, it was my conscience decision to stop being lazy and get off the Excuse Train and the comfy couch. And started walking.

Everywhere.

I traded in my fun purses for a back pack and I would *and still do* hoof all my precious belongings (lip gloss, chap stick, Jolly Ranchers, a small mirror and an umbrella, just in case) inside my back pack. And like a true dork, I’d actually wear the back pack and hoof it all over Tyndall. On foot.

About mid-July, I received an Email from one of my art mentors asking my status of employment. Bewildered, I inquired as to why she was asking. Well, it seems, she hadn’t seen my “INKY” car parked at the hospital anymore and was concerned as to where I was working in town or out-of-town.

I spilled the beans and told her I was still gainfully employed and started to walk to work… leaving my cute little car in the parking lot next to my complex.

Are you following where I am going with this???

So last night, many approached me with the same concerned question …. they all assumed by me taking on a part-time gig slinging hash was my NEW and ONLY gig in the village!!!

Jinkies Daphne.

We all got a good chuckle out of that nugget. Yeah so … perhaps a CB radio would be a good option for me to have about now to keep the concerned, curious citizens of Bon Homme County up-to-date on my much slimmer self.

My hopes are that those several good Catholics will be a walking bill board for me and have coffee with other curious townies and spread the love of Amy Susan Petrik, that I am working full-time AND part-time AND I’m still working as a professional artist in between.

Ten-Four Good Buddy, this is Apple Sauce signing off.

Author: kirtepa

My 8-year quest of being BANDED finally happened on June 27, 2012!!! While it will be nice to shed some pounds, my number one goal is to get HEALTHY ... And to get off ALL my diabetic meds and not have to rely on my CPAP at night and for naps. A few years back I made a decision to only surround myself with positive people and I have never looked back. At times I may be snarky perhaps a little wonky and I will apologize right now if I offend anyone as I blog about my life as I know it. Peace & love to all of my wonderful supporters.

Leave a Reply

