Bohemian Burble

= A socially unconventional person.

Pickled

Leave a comment

Today at Wally World, I literally ran into an old acquaintance of mine. We go way back to the Yankton P&D. I was a news clerk/reporter and she worked in the business office back in 2001. We both weren’t there very long but we became friends.

We hadn’t seen one another since I moved away from Yankton in December 2010. And she noticed my weight loss. In a big way. She even commented on how healthy I looked too. Wow, that was a first too. I felt like I was walking on air afterwards.

And of all things to be sporting today, I had on too big of capri leggings that were severely baggy from butt to cuff and a size 4X shirt on from Catherines.

Hey… it was only a year or so ago, that I bought a ton of new clothes and some I’ve not worn a lot….  once we parted and I was over by the frozen food section, I saw my reflection in the freezer doors…. yeah, I looked like a mess with the options I picked from my closet.

Eh.

Something to know about me prior to having my lap band done. I was a dill pickle freak. A maniac was more like it.

Wal Mart sells ginormous jars of pickles for less than $4.00 bucks. Like the size of a newborn baby… those jars are humongous. And the AMY before lap band, would pick up one of those mammoth sized jars and she could eat it in 2 days and guzzle the juice like it was going out of style. I kid you not on everything I just wrote.

My mom and I used to can pickles every summer but this one, due to the drought and all. And no one having any cucumbers but the nearby Hutterites. But when we did …. can that is, I would have ALL of the quart jars eaten way before Thanksgiving. And we’d do them in mid-August.

So you can imagine my horror when we initially met with my dietitian and she said, “absolutely not,” ….no pickles of any kind were to be consumed. Ever. Not ever. Ever. Ever.

Ever.

I even asked if I could cut off the skin of the pickles and just gum my way through a pickle. No, she said.

But I abided by those insane rules. You could find me gazing lovingly the past 100 days or so since I had the lap band done end of June … at the jars of pickles that lined up the shelves at Gemar’s in Tyndall or Doug’s Food Center in Springfield. I never did grab a jar … till today.

Today I said was the day I was going to buy a ginormous jar at Wally World and for $3.48 I would have in my possession a mammoth juicy jug of pickles at my finger tips.

I got home and I waited. And I waited. Remember the new 8.5 cc’s of saline in my belly seriously does not make me hungry. Ever. Like I just tell myself to eat because I know it’s lunch time or supper time. And so I eat about 8 ounces of food and my 8.5 cc’s literally tells me I am full and not to even tempt to put another morsel into my mouth. Isn’t that like really really cool???

So around 7:30PM I really wasn’t hungry but I opened up the massive jar and took my usual three large pickles out and put them in a bowl. And then I proceeded to drink some of the juice thinking it’d bring me back to before my lap band …. and guess what????

It literally did nothing to me. No fireworks. No excitement. Nothing. And I was sad. Here was one of my all time favorite FAVORITE favorite items of food and it brought me absolutely no joy at all. 😦

I took my three pickles in the bowl to the couch. I ate one half of one of the large pickles. And three hours after taking them out of the jar, they still sat in the bowl, shriveled, wrinkled and sad. I put them back in the jar with the others and I figured it’ll be weeks before I crave another one. If that.

Then my old friend said to me … “Do you still like the same foods as before?” .… No. No I don’t, I replied. And this was hours and hours before I stuck my hand into the mammoth size jar too.

Author: kirtepa

My 8-year quest of being BANDED finally happened on June 27, 2012!!! While it will be nice to shed some pounds, my number one goal is to get HEALTHY ... And to get off ALL my diabetic meds and not have to rely on my CPAP at night and for naps. A few years back I made a decision to only surround myself with positive people and I have never looked back. At times I may be snarky perhaps a little wonky and I will apologize right now if I offend anyone as I blog about my life as I know it. Peace & love to all of my wonderful supporters.

Leave a Reply

