Bohemian Burble

= A socially unconventional person.

Hello Lent

Leave a comment

I thought about going to Lent Mass tonight but then I was reminded that the 90 minute premiere of SURVIVOR was on tonight and I opted to watch the show instead of going to church. See, I am recovering Catholic so it’s not like I’m going to Hell or anything but I thought I should have gone to save my sanity and pray for more strength and courage in my life. I dropped out of “lap band society” since September because a part of my life wasn’t fairing very well. I made amends in the past two months with my soul and myself and I am forging onwards.

Between then and now I also set up an ETSY shop selling my whimsical art at http://www.etsy.com/shop/WetinkWisdom and also my business page on facebook has opened a lot of new and exciting doors for me too. That link is https://www.facebook.com/wetinkwisdom67

I have still been going strong since my third fill on September 27, 2012 … I’m down a ton of sizes in my waist … I can now wear an XL in certain pant sizes (depending on the brand name) and a size 16 in other brand names. Eight months ago, I was at a horrible size of 34 in pants. Shirts are a bit wonky still. However ALL of my 4X’s are like mini dresses on me and all of my 5X’s are maxi dresses. For realz people. I used to wear button up shirts over my 4 & 5X shirts and all of those babies are wayyy too big for me now.

In October I stuffed four large leaf bag garbage bags full of loose clothes and gave them away to an overweight family in my town for free. Sadly I have plenty more to go through. This load I plan on selling on eBay as this section of clothing all came from Catherines or Lane Bryant and most are still new and never worn or worn once or twice and never worn again. I’m so not giving these away!!!

So here we are at Lent season. I’m not a Saint when it has come to all the lap band rules I was told to follow. During September through December 2012, I went through a very very dark time and my anxiety was through the roof along with horrible depression. None of that though was related to my lap band but I had to endure all of it WITH my lap band and I just quit following the “rules” and short of giving up, I did not exercise or behaved nicely with my new tool.

I’m turning over a new leaf in 2013. I am getting back on track. I am finding wonderful healthy and easy meals on Pinterest and am following them nicely. Yesterday I made a delicious veggie enchaliada casserole to die for … and tonight I sauteed up mini Portabella mushrooms and put them on a lettuce salad I made with tomatoes and unshelled sunflower seeds with raisins. I have been drinking a ton of ice water with fresh slices of lemon in it or iced green tea. And that leads up to tonight’s 40-day Lent challenge.

I will go 40 days without ANY carbonated drink and 40 days without any type of potato chip. Crackers are safe and pretzels are safe. Potato chips are my all time weakness. Not chocolate, not ice cream, not candy, but chips — all the salt and bad stuff rolled up into one big crunch.

Let the games begin.

Author: kirtepa

My 8-year quest of being BANDED finally happened on June 27, 2012!!! While it will be nice to shed some pounds, my number one goal is to get HEALTHY ... And to get off ALL my diabetic meds and not have to rely on my CPAP at night and for naps. A few years back I made a decision to only surround myself with positive people and I have never looked back. At times I may be snarky perhaps a little wonky and I will apologize right now if I offend anyone as I blog about my life as I know it. Peace & love to all of my wonderful supporters.

Leave a Reply

