Bohemian Burble

= A socially unconventional person.

Old Habits Die Hard

Leave a comment

images

For the past four days, I have totally caught up on all of my lost sleep from a month ago. I feel very well rested and a little energized too. I just got back from delivering five 11″x14″ paintings I created to the Avon (SD) library.

Because today is also my last day off before I go back to my job that allows me to buy all my green goodness for smoothies, I slept late once again. I did not opt to eat or drink anything until I delivered my paintings. However, old habits started to seep into my melon as I was driving to Avon.

Like most small towns in South Dakota, each has its own burger joint. Or a bar that serves greasy goodness in form of a burger and fries. And cheap. Although I was not craving this said grease, I was thinking about it over and over in my head and thinking how delicious it would be to bite right into the said burger.

I handed over my paintings to the woman who requested them. Stayed for the oooohs and ahhhhhs of her admiring my skill and I was half tempted to ask for the local phone book to call the bar who makes the said greasy burgers. But my will power won over.

I got back into my car but not before gazing over at the local bar that makes good deep fat fried food and again thought… how I wish I had their phone number. I toyed with the idea of actually walking into the place but then I’d have to actually speak with people I do not wish to speak with. It is my day off after all. And today I do not wish to speak to anyone really. At. All.

Back into my car, going down the main street…I still had the opportunity to get something greasy.

And then, my will power won over. I did not (a) need the greasy burger and (b) there was no way my chute would allow french fries to go down fully without upchucking them like I have in the past. And in truth… I wasn’t even hungry for meat or anything resembling a burger.

Driving home though… my mind switched to ordering a chicken salad sub at one of our convenient stores. All through town, that was what was occupying my brain. Chicken salad. Chicken salad. Chicken salad.

I took my time getting the mail. In fact I actually sat in the car thumbing through a magazine just so the thought of chicken salad would leave my melon. And it worked.

Ten minutes later I was home without the chicken salad sub.

But then the wonkiness was still with me. Why the demons in our heads keep tempting us to do the wrong things….

I brought out my quesadillas maker I got years ago as a Christmas gift, plugged it in and had wild ideas of what to all through in it. But again, will power won over. And I just put in the taco shredded cheese mix and put it in the machine. A few minutes later I was cutting it apart and not even having an urge to eat it.

I also made a chocolate Slim Fast powder and plain yogurt and 2% milk shake in the blender. So in my arms was the shake, the quesadillas and I promptly grabbed three oranges for good measure.

I took one bite of one small triangle of the quesadilla and set it aside. I am now almost finished drinking the rest of the shake from the blender pitcher and I have eaten just one of the three oranges.

My lap band didn’t really agree with the small triangle of quesadilla that I did eat but that’s how it goes….

And believe it or not, but I am full.

Now it is my time to drink a lot of filtered water. And it is also 2:15PM …. I left for Avon around 12:15PM ….

I may have a nap coming up later on and I may go for walk in this nice Spring weather. I really don’t know…. how I will spend the last freebie day off before going back to the trenches tomorrow at 2PM.

Make good food choices! Peace out.

Author: kirtepa

My 8-year quest of being BANDED finally happened on June 27, 2012!!! While it will be nice to shed some pounds, my number one goal is to get HEALTHY ... And to get off ALL my diabetic meds and not have to rely on my CPAP at night and for naps. A few years back I made a decision to only surround myself with positive people and I have never looked back. At times I may be snarky perhaps a little wonky and I will apologize right now if I offend anyone as I blog about my life as I know it. Peace & love to all of my wonderful supporters.

Leave a Reply

