Bohemian Burble

= A socially unconventional person.

I’m In It For Life People

Leave a comment

I had bad tempting food thoughts entering my melon earlier in the evening and I almost got in my car to drive the one block to the grocery store to cave in to temptation…. INSTEAD …I threw on my Asics… called my friend and off we went for a long walk around town, visited the local alpacas & donkeys & the ugly emu ….an hour later we said our goodbyes and now it is time for some shut-eye.hha

I’ve also been thinking of ways to up my exercise in my small village of 1200. I do not want to pay the pricey (although I do get an employee discount) Wellness Center fee just to go walk on the treadmills since I also have one at home … and I’ve seriously watched this infomercial at least four times since my June 2012 surgery….and really really really liked it. Remember my Zumba stint early 2012??? I did love going to those classes till…. well I just realized it wasn’t for me anymore.

So I just ordered this amazing product for a nice $19.95 plus tax. I shall receive it in 7 to 10 business days. And I will use it. In my own home. On my laminate flooring. In my ginormous living room. With the music cranked up high. And I will enjoy it. Girl Scout Promise.

On other note… I was over at my fellow lab bander’s blog earlier today and found an interesting post that A LOT of my followers often ask me about my own journey. And I am giving her full credit for her (duh) own post…. Seriously though… everything she wrote, I agree with 1000 percent.

But for me, this is the God’s honest truth: I also LOVE my lap band. And all the new responsibilities that go with it. I have zero regrets. And my HEALTH thanks me daily for it too. ~asp

Here is the actual link to it http://lapbandgalsjourney.blogspot.com/2013/01/5-things-that-i-wish-that-i-knew-before.html

5 Things That I Wish I Had Known Before I Had Lap-Band Surgery:

5.  That Exercise is Required.

I thought that I wouldn’t have to exercise to lose weight.  I hated exercise. It wasn’t fun.

And why would I waste time sweating when I could be spending my time watching reality TV and camped out on the couch?  Seriously. A no-brainer.

At approximately three months post-op, I realized that I was delusional and would need to exercise.

I am pretty sure that I wouldn’t be as successful as I have been with my band if I hadn’t gotten down with exercise.

I now know that I have to sweat and work it to see results and to ensure that I do not become a fatty again.

4.   People Would Treat Me Different When I Lost The Weight.

This is one of the issues that I still struggle with.

It bugs the crap outta me.

Most of the time people are nicer now.

Sometimes old friends don’t recognize me.

It’s weird and awkward.

3.  I Thought That I Would Have My Lap-Band Forever and Ever and Ever.  

But I learned about a year ago that most medical silicone devices have somewhat of a limited life span. I had no idea that, for example, women are usually replacing their silicone breast implants approximately every 10-15 years.

I’ve now know and accepted the fact that I will probably either need to replace my band one day or not have a band at all.  I’m OK with that.

2.  That 80% of the Weight Loss and Weight Maintenance Job Would Be Entirely Up To Me.

I learned pretty quickly after being banded that the band will never stop me from making bad food choices.

Ice cream? Sure!

Cookies? Of course!

Taco Bell drive-thru? Yes, please.

Those wonderful yummy things will always go right past my band and into my tummy.

It’s up to me to choose lean proteins and veggies.

The 20% of the job that the band does do is keeps me feel fuller longer.

It’s a pretty fabulous thing that my band does for me. No more hunger (usually).

1.  THERE IS NO DONE.

Every time that I had lost weight before getting banded, I would lose some weight (about 20-30 lbs) see  results, and then stop losing weight by going back to my old behaviors.  Then I’d gain all the weight back.

With my band, I learned at about the 30 lbs lost point that I would have to count calories, proteins, drink buckets of water, take my vitamins, and exercise every day and FOREVER.

Forevers a long time.

There is no finish line on this journey.

I love my band.

Author: kirtepa

My 8-year quest of being BANDED finally happened on June 27, 2012!!! While it will be nice to shed some pounds, my number one goal is to get HEALTHY ... And to get off ALL my diabetic meds and not have to rely on my CPAP at night and for naps. A few years back I made a decision to only surround myself with positive people and I have never looked back. At times I may be snarky perhaps a little wonky and I will apologize right now if I offend anyone as I blog about my life as I know it. Peace & love to all of my wonderful supporters.

Leave a Reply

