Bohemian Burble

= A socially unconventional person.

Good Times Was Had By All

Leave a comment

old-chicago-logoToday was my day off because I worked Memorial Day. And what a day off it was!

I finally wrangled someone to go with me to Sioux Falls today and we had a great day together. We cashed in my two freebie lunches from Old Chicago restaurant too. I ordered the bleu cheese peppercorn burger (well done) and opted for a side salad instead of fries or coleslaw. And I opted for water with a slice of lemon.

My friend ordered fries with her meal and let me just say … a year ago at this time, I would have jumped at eating french fries and more. I wasn’t even jealous of her eating them and my belly nor my mind was saying anything about it like what a stupid choice on my part that I’m not shoveling in crispy fries with oodles of ketchup on them. But “New Amy” didn’t even flinch when I ordered the side salad instead. And when it came out, it was huge. And I really should not have eaten anything else with it.

When my burger did come out though…. that thing was monstrous!!! I took off the ginormous toasted bun full of goop and cut up my burger into pieces and ate it with a fork. Very very very very very slowly, I ate it.

Now my friend… she just had Part 1 of 2 …of her lap band evaluation with a psychologist. She’s a newbie. And after we were done eating, she said to me, “Are you going to throw up now?” And I was like ah no. It doesn’t work that way. Then I proceeded to tell her how the throwing up works when you have a tight band and so on.

Well…. we discussed it prior to coming in and most of the day I told her my stories of do’s and don’ts. I did not want to sugar coat any thing from my lap band journey. I wanted to be completely honest with everything. This Thursday, she goes back in for Part 2 of her evaluation…to make sure she isn’t a homicidal maniac in disguise.

It’s now 7:30PM … three and a half hours since we returned back to Tyndall and more than 7 hours since I had that burger … and I’m not one bit hungry.  I drank water all the way home on the 90-mile journey and food is and was the farthest thing on my melon right now. I am going to walk uptown right now and mail a thank you note to Old Chicago and to my friend. She’s a good seed.

Now it is 9:37PM …. I ended up going for a short walk, but a walk nonetheless. I got a compliment from a local for “looking good,” and that was a nice thing to hear. But I was freezing wearing shorts. I came back home and ended up having a few crackers and swiss cheese with cut up broccoli dipped into ranch dressing. And drank more water.

Heading to bed early to hopefully rid myself of my bad cold. One of my friends and her three sons will be picking me up bright and early at 7:45AM to head over to Avon for their city wide rummage sales.

Truly a wonderful day for me. Peace out.

Author: kirtepa

My 8-year quest of being BANDED finally happened on June 27, 2012!!! While it will be nice to shed some pounds, my number one goal is to get HEALTHY ... And to get off ALL my diabetic meds and not have to rely on my CPAP at night and for naps. A few years back I made a decision to only surround myself with positive people and I have never looked back. At times I may be snarky perhaps a little wonky and I will apologize right now if I offend anyone as I blog about my life as I know it. Peace & love to all of my wonderful supporters.

Leave a Reply

