Bohemian Burble

= A socially unconventional person.

Our National Holiday is Here

Leave a comment

Banner08I just came home from sitting near my dad’s grave and my other relative’s graves at the St. Wenceslaus Cemetery in Tabor (SD) watching the big firework display announcing that the 2013 Czech Days celebration has officially begun. I sat with my mother and a handful of 2nd and 3rd cousins that have traveled all over the US to be here for this weekend’s events.

I am 100% Czech so for a weekend like this one, it’s huge. I love everything about my Czech heritage too. Including the food.

A year ago, this weekend, I was just put on my pre-surgery Optima two-week diet. I had a protein shake of 8 ounces in the morning for breakfast; a unappetizing Optima granola like bar for lunch and a packet of chicken cream like soup for supper. Every single day for 14 days. Let me just say…. I started the Optima ditty the first day of Czech Days. And I did survive but one takes for granted the glorious smells of Czech food and carnival food all wrapped together.

I am so happy it’s now a year later … however I’m still slightly nervous about what I am going to consume tomorrow.

Us cousins are all congregating at a cousin’s house that is right on the parade route. The main cousin who owns the house provides the homemade Czech hot dogs and we all bring the rest of the food options for a ginormous potluck. My mom and I brought tortilla chips, salsa and soda to share. There will be a ton of food too so I do know I will be careful and go easy on taking things. I heard tonight at the cemetery someone is bringing dumplings and sauerkraut. Music to my ears … as that slides down very easily through my chute.

And ever since I had food poisoning from buying a corn dog a million years ago from a carnie food booth that ended up with me being hospitalized …I try to avoid getting any snacks at any of the carnival vendors. And I avoid ALL the beer gardens too.

Water is the best choice overall too. No ifs, ands or buts…. ice-cold water wins hands down.

I intend to take a 2 day hiatus from blogging until my work weekend ends on Sunday AND after the hoopla ends with humming polkas and avoiding the long lines in the restrooms!

Until I post again…. move it, shake it, do something to get your body moving …. it’s all about baby steps.

 

Author: kirtepa

My 8-year quest of being BANDED finally happened on June 27, 2012!!! While it will be nice to shed some pounds, my number one goal is to get HEALTHY ... And to get off ALL my diabetic meds and not have to rely on my CPAP at night and for naps. A few years back I made a decision to only surround myself with positive people and I have never looked back. At times I may be snarky perhaps a little wonky and I will apologize right now if I offend anyone as I blog about my life as I know it. Peace & love to all of my wonderful supporters.

Leave a Reply

