Bohemian Burble

= A socially unconventional person.

Come Shop With Me

Leave a comment

Between working the past three days and Czech Days, I slept like I was a dead weight in the bottom of the ocean. Without my night-light too. [Remember April 10th and finding the dead corpse in my kitchen??? Been sleeping with the light on ever since] ….

Sleeping in till almost 11AM was divine. After becoming a human after showering … I motored to Yankton to get some supplies for my empty cupboards and fridge. images

So I hit up Dollar Tree (which now has a lovely frozen food section) and is getting more and more name brand food products there (which I also love!!!) … and then opted for Wally World over HyVee — just plain cheaper people. And I’m all about cheap.

Onward I went in and there was no “wet one” to clean off the germy cart. Eeech.  I had on my agenda to get items to make fresh salsa with my massive amounts of tortilla chips I still have from a week prior. And I’m still trying to stay on track for the “real food challenge” life style… have had major bumps in the road since March when I initially started that journey but I’m always trying to get back on track.

So making a ginormous amount of the fresh salsa is perfect for me and my belly. It consists of: cold corn kernels, black beans, cut up fresh cilantro, onion, garlic, green chilis, diced tomatoes, a pinch of salt and pepper … mix and chill in fridge. Eat accordingly with chips of choice.

Then I don’t know why I always do this but I fill my cart with crap I know that my new self is never going to consume and I trudge around the store all the way up front with the crap in the cart… till I finally wake up and come to my senses. Then I randomly start placing my said items in the weirdest of weird places in random apple boxes or by the ground hamburger or bananas because I’m too lazy to cart all the junk back to their proper spaces on the shelves. Hey, I’m not proud of this but it never fails, I do it every time I’m there.

But I was quite happy with my ending choices upon handing them over to go thru the scanning process. And forking over the dough.

I finally left Yankton four hours after I entered the kingdom. And I still hadn’t eaten a morsel of anything. So I did the next best thing and treated myself to a Buster Bar at Dairy Queen. All of my other jaunts to the big city had ended in massive sliming (aka throwing up all over my shirt) on the drive home so I figured a Buster Bar was the safest choice.

That was… until I opted to grab a hot chicken tender out of the Wally World bag. You would’ve thunk I had learned my lesson on all the other solo trips I’ve taken to and from the village of 14,000 back to my own village of 1,200. But no. I haven’t.

I had just reached the turn off from going down to the lake to back on Highway 50 when the half eaten chicken tender came sprouting up as a humongous spit ball (what we lap banders call sliming). And it continue to slime all the way back to my parking spot in front of my apartment complex too.

Gross. Gross.
Gross.

Two hours later found me back at Dairy Queen — this time in my own village, meeting my mom and Aunt … to visit while they ate. Then I got an Orange Julius. My first one since I was like 11 years old. Yeah, so it wasn’t as good as I remembered. And as a Type 2 diabetic… we  really shouldn’t be drinking a lot of orange juice anyhow …. and since being diagnosed in 2008, I pretty much have stopped drinking and eating anything orange related.

Crikey. I haven’t been making the best food choices for a while now. And I do not know why. I am three days away from my one-year bandiversary. I like to think I’m a completely different person since that day. At times I am and at other moments, I’m still in the twilight zone.

The point on this post??? I don’t think there is one. I am perfectly sane but yet when I go shopping, I tend to hoard crap like the old days and I really really really need to break that psychotic thought process soon. Any suggestions????

Author: kirtepa

My 8-year quest of being BANDED finally happened on June 27, 2012!!! While it will be nice to shed some pounds, my number one goal is to get HEALTHY ... And to get off ALL my diabetic meds and not have to rely on my CPAP at night and for naps. A few years back I made a decision to only surround myself with positive people and I have never looked back. At times I may be snarky perhaps a little wonky and I will apologize right now if I offend anyone as I blog about my life as I know it. Peace & love to all of my wonderful supporters.

Leave a Reply

