Bohemian Burble

= A socially unconventional person.

Granola Crunchies

Leave a comment

I am so happy that I am back on a normal sleep routine. It has done wonders for my mood and overall well-being. I woke up at 8:20AM, 100_0163showered and dressed and started painting like crazy.

Eighteen paintings later, I got up off my chair and headed up town. I bought a few things that I did not get yesterday and milk for my smoothies. Prior to having that nasty sinus infection that knocked me out for nearly three weeks, I had been drinking smoothies on a daily basis. However during the mucus phase of constantly blowing my nose and coughing that crap up, I opted to not have any type of milk or smoothie type drinks. [One of my creations is to the right… she is 4″x6″ and will be framed later today]

100_0172Just made this “fresh” … today. Lots and lots and lots of goodness in it: black beans, corn, avocados, cilantro, diced tomatoes, real garlic, onion, garlic salt, pepper, salt, black olives…that’s it. It’s in my fridge chilling right now but I couldn’t resist eating a tiny bit. Boy oh boy, it is very very filling. I will make a lot of meals out of this freshness too.

With me eating less and less for meals, I love having this home-made salsa on hand. Earlier, while painting, I had eaten two very small generic granola bars and they stayed down my pie hole which was nice considering yesterday’s sliming incident.

On my errands earlier, I stopped off at the County Nurse office … I love the staff there. Super kindness and a lot of support reeks from that joint. I love talking to both of the ladies. And I gave them an invite to my birthday party too. I hope they come.

While there, Debbie was telling me about someone fairly new to the community. She said this woman and her husband are really into the “real food challenge” like I am. She had asked me if I had ever tried coconut oil. No, I haven’t I told her… she gave me a print-out of all the benefits coconut oil has to offer. And she talked about that couple’s garden and how they no longer use a microwave and other things about them.

I’m not sure if I could go without a microwave. I am sure I could do it and be fine not using one but it just is so handy. And easy. And quick. I am all about trying new things, especially since starting my new lifestyle but somehow, at least, for me, I do see a microwave in my near future. It’d be one thing if I had a house and my own garden like they have but I am in an apartment complex. I suppose I could start a garden but I really have no ambition to start one up.

Anywho … twenty-four years ago I first heard the term, “granola crunchies.” I was a nanny in Gloucester, Massachusetts for a Canadian couple who were Buddhists. And they were very granola crunchy. They wore Birkenstocks in rain, in the sun, in the snow ….they had all colors, all styles and that’s all they wore. He was a doctor and she was a psychotherapist…. who was always mega analyzing my every move, thought, everything. But I also learned a lot about life, people, religion and everything in between.

And in some ways, I, too, became a granola crunchie.

I’m all about wearing comfortable shoes, enjoying life, people watching and not being conformed into organized religion.

The last thing Debbie said to me today was, “You’re such an inspiration.”

My heart skipped a bit and I felt very humbled to say the very least. Back to drawing the remainder of the 92 I promised myself I would do. Keep moving, shakin’, groovin’ to the music.

Author: kirtepa

My 8-year quest of being BANDED finally happened on June 27, 2012!!! While it will be nice to shed some pounds, my number one goal is to get HEALTHY ... And to get off ALL my diabetic meds and not have to rely on my CPAP at night and for naps. A few years back I made a decision to only surround myself with positive people and I have never looked back. At times I may be snarky perhaps a little wonky and I will apologize right now if I offend anyone as I blog about my life as I know it. Peace & love to all of my wonderful supporters.

Leave a Reply

