Bohemian Burble

= A socially unconventional person.

364 Days Ago…and Beyond…

9 Comments

  • 922760_516328398422371_1323765084_nI was sporting a 5XL shirt (or size 34/36)
  • …size 36 pants
  • Wore double (WW) sometimes triple (WWW) shoes
  • I had zero endurance
  • None of my rings fit me
  • I was extremely unhealthy
  • No energy
  • Napped whenever possible, including after work and at lunches from work
  • Joint pain
  • Junk food was my main “go to” food
  • Hated exercising and always lied about doing it
  • It hurt to walk a block
  • Ate a ton of bread every single day
  • Barely could fit into my Ford Focus
  • ….and my mom’s sedan, with the seat all the way back
  • Could not stand longer than 20 minutes without needing to sit down
  • Sweated like I just got out of the shower
  • Low self-esteem
  • No self-confidence
  • Rarely made eye contact with anyone
  • Preferred to my hermit lifestyle in planning on future events
  • Turned down a lot of invites
  • Never went anywhere solo (besides shopping)
  • Had a permanent double, sometimes triple chin
  • Had no desire to jog/run
  • Could finish a bag of large chips in one sitting and still be hungry
  • Barely could fit into a normal size bath tub
  • Bought clothes in bulk: if one V-neck shirt fit, I’d buy all the colors in the same design.
  • Same went with pants
  • Couldn’t walk up a hill — big or small — without major panting and sweating
  • Barely could walk up the ramp at the hospital from the clinic without grasping on to the side rail
  • Needed to use a seat belt extender while driving and being a passenger in my mom’s car
  • Used to order 2 orders of “food combos” at any fast food drive-thru
  • Never quite fit properly in normal size movie theatre seats (non-stadium seats)
  • My bowels are royally messed up
  • My blood sugars were wayyyy over 500
  • They couldn’t even register my triglycerides as they were off the charts
  • I hated stepping on any scale
  • I had no space between my legs
  • My calves were ginormous, bright red and full of edema
  • I had no curves
  • I was just a blob of skin
  • I hated everything about me
  • The idea of just eating a salad or a plate of fruit and veggies for a meal was a joke
  • Getting ready to function as a human (showering, dressing, etc) was a big chore
  • Drove every single place — even to work, one block away
  • Made excuses for almost every aspect of my world
  • Blamed my Type 2 diabetes on a lot of things weight related
  • Was angry a lot
  • Instead of eating a small bowl of ice cream, I would eat the whole box
  • Had no desire to learn any thing new in forms of eating or exercising
  • Suffered from depression and high anxiety with a lot of paranoia thrown in
  • Pretty much gave up all hope

Basically….

  • I just existed

Until I switched providers in April 2012 … and she became my very own Super-Hero …. and hope seeped back into my world as I knew it. I met my surgeon, Dr. Michael Haley and his wonderful nurses, Mindy and Deb in Mitchell, South Dakota ….and a slew of other Super Heroes too … and Shazam … on the morning of June 27, 2012, at Avera Queen of Peace Hospital in Mitchell … my life changed completely.

I cannot believe everything that has changed for me because of all my hard work in the last 364 days.

Stay tuned….

Author: kirtepa

My 8-year quest of being BANDED finally happened on June 27, 2012!!! While it will be nice to shed some pounds, my number one goal is to get HEALTHY ... And to get off ALL my diabetic meds and not have to rely on my CPAP at night and for naps. A few years back I made a decision to only surround myself with positive people and I have never looked back. At times I may be snarky perhaps a little wonky and I will apologize right now if I offend anyone as I blog about my life as I know it. Peace & love to all of my wonderful supporters.

9 thoughts on “364 Days Ago…and Beyond…

  1. Hi it’s me, I am also visiting this web page on a regular basis, this web page is in fact nice and the users are in fact sharing pleasant thoughts.

  2. This post actually peaked our interest.
    get off dialysis http://www.23hq.com/lamb68butane/story/12535136

  3. I enjoy reading a post that will make men and women think.

    Also, thanks for allowing for me to comment!

  4. I’m not that much of a internet reader to be honest but
    your sites really nice, keep it up! I’ll go ahead and bookmark your website to come back later. All the best

  5. Thank you Pam !!!! thank you for your many years of support in all aspects of my life!! {{{hugs}}}

  6. Thanks Mrs. D. … I left a ton of stuff out on that list. In order for me to be completely accountable for my blog and my good and bad actions, I have to be honest in front of everyone. Thus letting it all out…. thanks for your support 🙂 Amy

  7. I just about cried reading your description of your life 364 days ago; you were brave to post it, and I admire your honesty. I’ll be praying for your continued success and will share your joy as you move closer to your goal of being healthier and happier.

  8. I am so, so proud of you for everything you have accomplished in the past 364 days! ❤

Leave a Reply

