Bohemian Burble

= A socially unconventional person.

Chard Me Crazy

Leave a comment

downsized_0629131821I tried a new food today. Call me crazy but I cannot figure out why Swiss Chard has never made it on my plate before. Like ever. Before. But I not only watched how it was prepared but I was told all the different recipes chard can be used in.

The bonus of all of this fascinating education was that my friend had me over for supper tonight and on my small plate was sauteed Swiss Chard in a garlic infused wine. I ate it over a little bit of hardened noodle shells.

I copied my host with shredded Swiss Cheese and a little shake of parmesan cheese on top. Oh and she cut up the red stems in teeny tiny bits of pieces and first sauteed those (look at the photo to the left, that was our actual small bowl we scooped the goodness out of) … then added the mammoth chard leaves to the pan.

I had no idea what to suspect the taste would be like. But I figured it would be like spinach maybe. It looked like cooked spinach but the taste was all its own. I really enjoyed it.

After a quick walk with my friend and her daughters, she gave me a large baggie full of fresh picked Swiss Chard from her garden. I do not have the garlic infused wine however (bummer) …. but I do have Olive Oil. I suggested adding onion to the sauteeing and she had mentioned that her husband cooks it that way. For a kick in flavor, bits of cilantro would be good too.

Last summer was the first summer my friend and her family had a massive garden. And it was also last summer was the first time I took a garden beet and after washing it up, I sliced up the beet… lined a cooking sheet with the sliced beets, sprinkled a little sea salt on the tops and drizzled Olive Oil over the tops of them too… then also put a little bit of parmesan on before baking… they turned out crispy and very much like a chip. My friend, however, put cinnamon on her beet tops (after slicing them) and drizzled with Olive Oil. I tried that too but both were a big hit.

To the right was my actual supper plate with the macaroni shell, the red stem, the cooked down chard with the shredded Swiss cheese on top. My friend gave me a plate that was suitable in size for her three-year-old child. It was the perfect size for a lap-bander too. I also found that this meal was extremely filling. I think in total, I ate a cup and a half of the Swiss chard.

Here are the benefits from eating chard:downsized_0629131823

Nutrition Facts
(1 cup chopped)
Calories 35
Protein 3 grams
Carbohydrates 7 grams
Calcium 102 mg
Iron 4 mg
Magnesium 151 mg
Phosphorus 58 mg
Potassium 960 mg
Sodium 313 mg
Vitamin C 32 mg
Folate 15 mcg
Vitamin 5493 IU

Author: kirtepa

My 8-year quest of being BANDED finally happened on June 27, 2012!!! While it will be nice to shed some pounds, my number one goal is to get HEALTHY ... And to get off ALL my diabetic meds and not have to rely on my CPAP at night and for naps. A few years back I made a decision to only surround myself with positive people and I have never looked back. At times I may be snarky perhaps a little wonky and I will apologize right now if I offend anyone as I blog about my life as I know it. Peace & love to all of my wonderful supporters.

Leave a Reply

