Bohemian Burble

= A socially unconventional person.

My Chinese Love Affair is Over

5 Comments

Several things happened between my last post and now. Probably the most important thing was … I slept maybe 2 hours last night. Two hours. Nothing changed in my normal bedtime routine and I was exhausted when I initially hit the bed. Then my eyes  popped wide open. And stayed open for a long three hour stretch till around 0536. I officially got up around 0834, to shower, dress and motor to Yankton’s DMV to get this….

My new drivers license. I cannot believe it doesn’t expire until the year 2018. That seems to be like so far far away but it’s only 5 years. And I think my photo turned out half way decent. At least I look like myself instead of a prison laundry lady. I kept the same weight on there as I have for the past 10+ years too. It’s my new goal to reach that one pound loss at a time. And it’s a nice goal that is reachable. It’s not like I put down 150 pounds. It’s in the range that I hope to be in. I mean it’s not like the DMV lady had the scale behind her cramped work environment like I first thought back when I was 14 and getting my driver’s permit.

My one and only stop today after getting my license was food items for my cupboards and fridge. And this time, I stayed away from Wally World and opted for the only other option in Yankton: HyVee. Plus I like the brightly lit lights in that joint and those cute miniature carts. And there really is a smile in every aisle …unlike the grumps at the other place.

My main goal this AM was to get a lot of grillable veggies. I got two yellow peppers (77 cents each), two zucchinis and a nongrillable veggie, cucumbers (which I love cut up and mixed with a light ranch dressing, chilled). I made excellent choices throughout my jaunt there today. However…. lunch was a whole different scenario.

The old Amy ways used to consist of….. scanning the specials in the Chinese express arena and end up getting a meal for a family of four …more bang for your buck I used to think. But really, I was THAT hungry for lunch and a snack later. So there I was today… standing awkwardly, scanning the menu of choices …. everything seemed to be in slow motion and I got a little anxious when Rebecca in her Chinese gear, although she was a Caucasian through and through …asked me how she could help me.

Ahhhhhh….. I could feel sweat pouring down my generic-Spanxed back. My eyes darted from the ginormous menu hanging from the ceiling to her. Back and forth, back and forth. I finally said, “…two entree special please.” I felt like I was in the Soup Nazi’s line up.

I picked the Chinese noodles over the rice and selected broccoli chicken and spicy Hunan pork. And an eggroll. (See photo to the right)downsized_0709131146

This was my actual plate that I attempted to eat in my car with the AC running on full steam. Before I could take the first piece of broccoli, I spied two cop cars circling the parking lot. And the true crime sleuth in me got excited!!! However… I was sorely disappointed to watch them meet up with an HyVee employee over in the employee parking section and just stand and talk. They kept going back and forth to a couple of cars but they were like a block away from my car and I could only see their heads bobbing up and down.

Anyways, while shopping the aisles …. I came across three people I knew. One was my former assistant from the Boys & Girls Club of Yankton. She could act as my full-time cheerleader if I ever needed her. She asked me what my end goal was and I said to for sure lose another 80 pounds then whatever else happens after that, still would be good. But I’d be out of the “obese” category per the medical professional’s weight chart for the average woman of 5 feet and 8 inches. But does that really matter??? To anyone????

Back to my ongoing gorging of Chinese food…

Definition of GORGE

intransitive verb
: to eat greedily or to repletion; also : to partake of something in large amounts <gorging on books>
intransitive verb

1 a : to stuff to capacity : glut

 b : to fill completely or to the point of distension <veins gorged with blood>
2: to consume greedily
***
I had a sinking feeling the love affair needed to end. And today was the day to end it. What you see in the photo of my Chinese food is the final amount I did NOT eat. I only ate a few pieces of chicken and pork with about four small pieces of sauced-soaked mushy broccoli.
Once I got back to my complex, I took the uneaten amount of Chinese delight and dumped it into our smelly dumpster. The bag hit the bottom of the barrel. A big thud. And it will sit there until the early hours of July 16th when Rusty, the garbage guru returns to pick up our nasties.
***
But for me… it’s an end to a disgusting gorge-fest that I have had for years and years and years with Chinese buffets and all buffets for that matter. I’m done trying to eat myself to death. My mom and I refer to all buffets as “the trough.”
You know, like a pig trough. You just continue to eat and eat and eat and you think or you tell yourself, wait, you convince yourself, because it’s a buffet, all is okay to shove all those mashed potatoes or crab ragoons down your pie hole. When it isn’t. It’s like the worst thing ever to do to your body!!!!
***
Tonight for a late supper, I’m going back to basics: a protein fruit smoothie. And early bedtime.
Author: kirtepa

My 8-year quest of being BANDED finally happened on June 27, 2012!!! While it will be nice to shed some pounds, my number one goal is to get HEALTHY ... And to get off ALL my diabetic meds and not have to rely on my CPAP at night and for naps. A few years back I made a decision to only surround myself with positive people and I have never looked back. At times I may be snarky perhaps a little wonky and I will apologize right now if I offend anyone as I blog about my life as I know it. Peace & love to all of my wonderful supporters.

5 thoughts on “My Chinese Love Affair is Over

  1. Awesome! Its genuinely remarkable post, I have got much clear idea about from this post.

  2. Pretty great post. I simply stumbled upon your weblog and
    wished to say that I have really enjoyed surfing around your weblog posts.
    In any case I will be subscribing to your rss feed and I’m hoping you write once more very soon!

  3. I like your writing, and your determination. You will prevail.

  4. I am regular reader, how are you everybody? This piece of writing posted at this
    website is truly nice.

Leave a Reply

