Bohemian Burble

= A socially unconventional person.

I Made My Appointment Today

2 Comments

thI am ashamed to say this but I have been in the yellow zone for over 7 months now. And being in the yellow is not good. And a little bit of denial thrown in the mix. But today, I put on my brave face and made the call to my surgeon’s office. My appointment is set for Tuesday, August 20th in Mitchell and I will be getting my fifth fill.

lap-bandBasically what that means is on my last fill #4 on September 27, 2012, Dr. Haley put in 8.5 cc’s of saline fluid into my band. It was full for a while — until December 2012… then I could feel a difference in the band. Like it was deflating some. I could eat more than usual and I had been snacking in between meals.

Now when it is full (see “fluid filled lap band” to the left), you are never hungry. In fact, you have to remind yourself to eat and get in enough protein per day.

And for me, for a long while now, I haven’t been feeling full or for that matter, losing any weight but the same three pounds over and over and over. And never dropping more than 5 pounds. Inches, yes. I’ve been dropping inches all over my body like crazy. Just not the main thing, pounds.

So in one month, I’ll get to see Dr. Haley and hopefully he’ll put enough saline into my band that will keep me full and back on track to losing more weight. Please keep me in your prayers (if you believe) that everything will all go well in a month’s time too. Thanks, Amy

lap-band-surgery

Author: kirtepa

My 8-year quest of being BANDED finally happened on June 27, 2012!!! While it will be nice to shed some pounds, my number one goal is to get HEALTHY ... And to get off ALL my diabetic meds and not have to rely on my CPAP at night and for naps. A few years back I made a decision to only surround myself with positive people and I have never looked back. At times I may be snarky perhaps a little wonky and I will apologize right now if I offend anyone as I blog about my life as I know it. Peace & love to all of my wonderful supporters.

2 thoughts on “I Made My Appointment Today

  1. I was good about getting fills right after surgery last year but …. I waited too long on this time around… 11 months after my last one, I’m finally getting my 5th one.

  2. Thanks for such great photos. And for the reminder that if I find myself being hungry and not losing weight, I should check in with the surgeon about a band fill. Prayers to you!

Leave a Reply

