Bohemian Burble

= A socially unconventional person.

Haters, Fakers, Aren’t They All The Same?

4 Comments

gumPA1309_228x371I’ve had two really decent days with eating what I am supposed to be eating for a lap bander following the “rules.” And I’ve been feeling really good with my energetic moods and how I feel in general.

Tonight after work, I headed over to our very local grocery store to hunt down a generic brand of microwave popcorn one of my cohorts-in-crime was bragging about. But to no avail, my store didn’t have it. But since I was already at the store I thought I’d pick up a few items to tide me over for the next four and half days that I have off from work.

While browsing in the cheese section, an obnoxious person yelped out my name in greetings. This particular person had the lap band surgery done in May of 2012; then claimed it had leaked and had it redone this past February 2013. I have seen this person countless of times and nothing is different about him/her. But someone close to this person told me that they picked the lap band surgery because they thought they’d lose the fastest weight — well fast. Rather than opting for the gastric bypass or sleeve. But the thing is about this human…. they are only “faintly” overweight. It was also revealed that this particular person has never followed any of the “rules” like the long list I was given prior to my surgery by my surgeon’s office and what to do once you’re on maintenance, et cetera.

Hey, I did my research on this topic nine years ago .. when my process began. And I knew I would follow the rules to the best of my ability (with a few errors between then and now) but I’m back on track to following all of the rules my surgeon laid out before myself (and pretty much my mom who was along for the journey and in all of our group meetings).

So this person tonight, yelled out to me as I was picking out my Mozzarella shredded cheese that was on sale. I was approached by this person and then asked face to face what I was making for supper tonight. I knew immediately what I was going to have: a vanilla whey protein smoothie with fresh blueberries, I said to this human.

I wasn’t at all hungry but I knew I had not met my protein quota for the day and for me, that’s extremely important, getting in all of my required protein.

This apparently annoyed this individual because out of their mouth came, “You should be drinking a beer!” …. Sorry, I chimed back but I no longer drink alcohol … and when I did, I absolutely hated beer.

Dead silence.

Crickets really.

Not another peep came out of that individual. To me. Or anyone else.

And I simply strolled away with my shredded cheese and my blueberries.

What really pisses me off about people who think getting the lap band surgery is a “sure-fire way” to lose all the weight in the world … WRONGO. If they had done any type of research whatsoever on this wonderful procedure… they would have learned that the band is simply a TOOL to help you along the weight loss journey but not a magic bullet. I believe it’s supposed to help you something like 20 or 30% and the rest is still up to you, the person getting the surgery done.

And prior to my surgery a year ago, I had already lost 60 lbs all on my own … by moving from a “city” of 14,000 to a teeny tiny village of 1,200. Besides two bars with grills, a convenience store with a deli and an oven and a seasonal Dairy Queen… my village has no other forms of fast food or even a WalMart of anything of that massive size to get large amounts of junk food at. My town basically shuts down at 8PM when the said grocery store closes for the night.

That’s it for us locals. Unless we want to motor over to said city of 14,000, thirty miles east. And most like me, do not wish to do that. Hence I kept losing the weight but not my high deadly numbers of my diabetic glucose or my high blood pressure, etc… all that remained sky-high. Danger zone. No laughing matter kind of numbers.

So perhaps you can understand why I hate when people assume that the lap band surgery or even gastric bypass is an “easy out.”

It also doesn’t help to maintain a piss-poor attitude like the person I tend to encounter on more times that I ever wish to occur … In order to succeed AT ANYTHING, it truly helps to have a very positive attitude.

But why am I still preaching this shit???

Because I had to cross paths with this toxic person tonight and it annoyed me like having warm sticky gum on the bottom of my favorite shoes.

Author: kirtepa

My 8-year quest of being BANDED finally happened on June 27, 2012!!! While it will be nice to shed some pounds, my number one goal is to get HEALTHY ... And to get off ALL my diabetic meds and not have to rely on my CPAP at night and for naps. A few years back I made a decision to only surround myself with positive people and I have never looked back. At times I may be snarky perhaps a little wonky and I will apologize right now if I offend anyone as I blog about my life as I know it. Peace & love to all of my wonderful supporters.

4 thoughts on “Haters, Fakers, Aren’t They All The Same?

  1. Bravo to you for realizing YOU really DO have to do a lot of work yourself 🙂 … and after a year and a month now… for me… as I have said before… it’s really 80% mental and the rest if exercising and making good food choices. And it’s all a day to day operation. Baby steps 🙂

  2. Unfortunately it is hard to avoid this said person because this person works there. But I try to hold my own and keep my head up high each and every encounter!

  3. I’m sorry that you had to deal with a toxic person like that. Sounded like that person was more interested in getting you to join them in their bad behaviors (making them feel better about their own choices), than anything to do with you. Sounds like you handled it perfectly!

  4. I have to admit that when I first chose the surgery I didn’t realize how much work I would really have to do. I assumed a fill would magically make me stop eating. (laugh along with me now… 🙂 ) I’m just past month three and still haven’t figured it all out…but boy have I changed my opinion on who is actually doing the work. And I love it. Because its giving me a lot more than just less weight…I’m learning to love good food, take my time to eat and even prepare, listen to my body…etc…the list just goes on and on.

    You probably shamed loudmout there in that grocery store. 😉

Leave a Reply

