Bohemian Burble

= A socially unconventional person.

Going Batty

1 Comment

I am a very curious human if you haven’t figured out that nugget. I was googling recipes and sites about my Type 2 diabetes last night and came across these two sites:

http://www.diseaseproof.com/

http://www.drfuhrman.com/

Then I came across this from Dr. Fuhrman’s website:

Here are 5 basic rules that may help you:

  1. Consume a large green salad every day, and put some raw onion and shredded cruciferous veggies on top.
  2. Consume a large portion of cooked greens daily, and utilize mushrooms and onions in your dishes.
  3. Eat at least 3 fruits a day, including berries.
  4. Eat some beans each day.
  5. Eat some seeds and nuts daily, utilizing some chia seeds, flax seeds and walnuts.

I found the 5 basic rules pretty simple. And I am pretty much doing all of these rules with the exception of eating beans daily. Beans tend to act like the Bok Choy. But I love mushrooms and onions and all else mentioned.

Oh and I, of course, have to get in enough protein daily too. I suppose the beans are the proteins but I prefer to drink my protein.

Plans for today have been altered. We will NOT be canning dill pickles today… boo hiss. And it looks like I’ll be staying put in my apartment too … which I’m sure I’ll make my way to my art room to continue to crank out paintings for the upcoming Fair.

I will also schedule in a mandatory nap. I did not fall asleep until 3AM and then had an awful dream … and convinced myself that a very blBat2ack bat flew into my ceiling fan light..and wedged itself in between the light bulb and holder part of the fan. I felt like I was paralyzed with fear. Even upon waking up, I was still convinced the bat was in the ceiling fan.

I do not think this is really a good way to start my third day off in a row. Eh. But it is only 62 degrees out and that is perfect weather for walking.

I also thought I’d add this bizarro nugget of thought… is it possible to really feel like one is shrinking as they sit, eat, walk about? Because as I sit here typing, I can feel things tightening up, getting smaller in teeny tiny increments. My walk last night really felt amazing afterwards. My arms are feeling slimmer, my calves definitely are … and the once triple chin I used to sport ….is now just down to a very small one. I cannot tell you how excited I am to see my surgeon on August 20th… it’s been a rollercoaster of joys, pains, aches, happiness and a few blahs all mixed together for the past 11 months.

Today’s lunch: 2% milk, 2 cups fresh blueberries, 1/2 cup of honey, 1/4 cup ground flax seed, 2 scoops of vanilla whey protein powder all blended together for a super yummy smoothie. It turned out ah-mazing delicious!!!!! No pipe cleaning today!!!!

Happy Monday!!!! Maintain a positive outlook and eat healthy!

Author: kirtepa

My 8-year quest of being BANDED finally happened on June 27, 2012!!! While it will be nice to shed some pounds, my number one goal is to get HEALTHY ... And to get off ALL my diabetic meds and not have to rely on my CPAP at night and for naps. A few years back I made a decision to only surround myself with positive people and I have never looked back. At times I may be snarky perhaps a little wonky and I will apologize right now if I offend anyone as I blog about my life as I know it. Peace & love to all of my wonderful supporters.

One thought on “Going Batty

  1. Hello There. I discovered your blog using msn. That is a really smartly written article. I’ll make sure to bookmark it and come back to read extra of your useful information. Thanks for the post. I will definitely comeback.

Leave a Reply

