Bohemian Burble

= A socially unconventional person.

6 Days & Counting

3 Comments

lap-band-illustrationI am getting kind of excited with the potential thought of feeling fuller again with my upcoming fill on August 20th. I went grocery shopping the other day and skipped over quite a few options that even banded I would have bought. But carefully made choices — just enough — to get my by till next Tuesday. Basically the only items I purchased were plain yogurt and Hidden Valley ranch mixes to add to the plain yogurt to make a “sauce” with the milk I already had in my fridge.

My friend Mary brought over a lot of cucumbers from her garden on Sunday and tonight I cut them up in thin slices. They are now nicely bathing in the milk, ranch, yogurt mixture. I still have onions to add but that’s it for me. Until Tuesday 2:30PM …. that is all I am going to consume as I do not want the chance of gaining any other type of unwanted weight — including anything salty. I learned my lesson the hard way the other week with that nightmare choice.

For those of you who are not aware of how the band works on my stomach, I found an image and posted it above. Right now, I do not have enough saline solution in my band (the white ring) to keep me feeling full. I get hungry quite often and by adding more saline to my band, it will tighten up and allow less food through the very small opening of my stomach.

Between my surgery date of June 27, 2012 and my last fill on September 27, 2012, I got four total fills. And back in September I have had 8.5 cc’s of saline in my lap band. It was fine for a while but I really waited wayyyyy toooooo long to get another fill.

And on Tuesday, I will be going to Mitchell to see the surgeon who performed my surgery for him to put more saline into my lap band. He told me he put a large band in me and it can hold up to 15 cc’s total. The most he told me back in September was 12 in a person.

I also have not lost a whole bunch of weight either. But I have lost a ton of inches and clothing sizes. And I have accomplished many many non-scale victories as well.

I am now back at work for the next stretch of four 11 hour days. I pray it’ll be very uneventful and there will be no wonky ERs or admits or anything on the wonky whackadoodle side of injuries and heartache.

Easy peasy would be fine by me.

I did not get a walk in tonight as it rained off and on all day and by the time I got off from work … I had to cut up all those cucumbers ….

Author: kirtepa

My 8-year quest of being BANDED finally happened on June 27, 2012!!! While it will be nice to shed some pounds, my number one goal is to get HEALTHY ... And to get off ALL my diabetic meds and not have to rely on my CPAP at night and for naps. A few years back I made a decision to only surround myself with positive people and I have never looked back. At times I may be snarky perhaps a little wonky and I will apologize right now if I offend anyone as I blog about my life as I know it. Peace & love to all of my wonderful supporters.

3 thoughts on “6 Days & Counting

  1. Not yet. 😦 Next month.

  2. My band does not allow fries of any kind. It literally feels like shards of glass going down my throat/chute. I can eat really soft baked potatoes but that’s about it. Or hash browns. But did you just get your band?

  3. I’m seeing my surgeon next week but I’m not sure if its for a fill. But I need one. I’m eating eight Chick-fil-a nuggets and a small waffle fries – the first fast food I’ve had since surgery, and I know I shouldn’t be eating this much. Because I’m still eating so little at my other meals I’m still under my “calorie budget” each day, but a 650 calorie dinner is the most I’ve had since surgery. Thanks for posting the photos; I can send these to my family who still look at me rather blankly when I tell them how the band works!

Leave a Reply

