Bohemian Burble

= A socially unconventional person.

Hello Weight Loss

Leave a comment

zinf1 It’s been a little over eight hours since I departed for my fill appointment at my surgeon’s office. As you may or may not know, I went in very anxious. I had not seen any of them since September 27, 2012 at my 4th fill. I should have returned this past winter but stupidity told me to stay away. And monetary reasons too.

So so so so so happy I went in today!!! Deb and Mindy, two of the best RNs I have ever met in my career of seeing providers …. were very happy with my progress thus far and they both high-fived me too.

The troubles started when Dr. Haley could not find my port which is approximately 3 inches above my belly button. He searched and searched and stuck in a ginormous needle into the scar area… and kept running into a ton of scar tissue. The scar tissue kept him from finding the middle of the port where he was to have loaded me up with the saline. After about four attempts, they brought in an ultra sound machine … and he said the scar tissue was so severe it was blocking the port from being seen.

That meant … I had to head over to Avera Queen of Peace hospital to get under a fluro …. a very costly ordeal. Very. Costly. And most likely my Avera insurance will not cover it. Praise the high heavens for payment plans!!!!

I brought my mom back with me in the Out Patient OR. They hooked her up with one of those armored-like vests and Dr. Haley and the three technicians donned their vests too, leaving me exposed unarmored! Haley still had major issues this time around — even with a lot of the scar tissue dissolving since my surgery last June!!!

My mom thought with him jabbing the needle deep within the port was actually hurting me but he numbed me up superbly. He put in 10.5 cc’s and had me sit up while he was holding the needle in my belly … I had to sit up and drink a large glass of water. But when he heard a small hiccup (aka burp) he knew he put in too much. So he took out .5 of the saline. PERFECTO. I had no hiccups. No water buildup. No discomfort. And no water spewing back up my throat.

AWESOME!!!!! I left with my lap band now happily filled with 10 cc’s. I am to be on a liquid diet for the next 3 days. Then I will graduate to soft foods, like pureed soups for a few more days and slowly add in like cubed up chicken or pork. He tried unsuccessfully to sell me on eating halibut steaks but I told him I gag at anything fishy besides shrimp. I assured him over and over and over that I am getting plenty of protein on a daily basis.

I also got answers on my past sliming episodes. What I wasn’t educated on prior was … when that would happen.. it meant my pouch was too full of food and food was stuck on top of my teeny tiny stomach hole. I was then supposed to kick back and be on liquids for 3 days until the swelling went down. I had no idea that that was what occurred when sliming happened. Had I done that, I wouldn’t have had so many unsightly episodes in the car and at work. Huge lesson learned for sure.

Once we left, I confessed I had not eaten anything since yesterday at lunch — which was a plate of sliced cucumbers with salt and pepper on them. We ate supper at Perkin’s … and I ate super slowly a bowl of potato soup. It came as a mound of pureed goodness. It was a small bowl and I nursed it for 25 minutes while my mom ate her meal. And I had nothing to drink until I came home to Tyndall … and we still had a trip to Wally World to complete. Bexter-hallelujah-Smiley-smaller

But let me just SCREAM FROM THE MOUNTAIN TOP: while walking around at Wally World, I could physically feel my band tightening on me…. and that soup completely filled me up. And I wasn’t thirsty or wanting anything else to touch my lips and go down my pipes. At one point, I grabbed my mom’s arm and I think I yelped a little bit and said, IT’S WORKING!!!!!

I’ve never felt this crazy amazing feeling after a fill before…. my faith and hope returned and have been restored. Dr. Haley explained that my band right now is swollen and once the swelling goes down again, my band will really tighten up with my new jump of saline in it.

It was such a glorious experience leaving Wally World… had a bit of a bounce in my step and I feel like I am on a huge high. With everything I have done in the past year and two months of experimenting with all types of foods and whatnot .. what I could eat, what I couldn’t … all the psychological play by plays every time I walked into any grocery store …. I’ve done a lot of hard feats in my journey but this …. this has to be my greatest accomplishment thus far.

I am so excited to see what happens next!!! Oh and from August 5th to today, I dropped an extra 27 pounds. Life is good.

Author: kirtepa

My 8-year quest of being BANDED finally happened on June 27, 2012!!! While it will be nice to shed some pounds, my number one goal is to get HEALTHY ... And to get off ALL my diabetic meds and not have to rely on my CPAP at night and for naps. A few years back I made a decision to only surround myself with positive people and I have never looked back. At times I may be snarky perhaps a little wonky and I will apologize right now if I offend anyone as I blog about my life as I know it. Peace & love to all of my wonderful supporters.

Leave a Reply

