Bohemian Burble

= A socially unconventional person.

Day 5: Hello Soft Foods

Leave a comment

Today, I went to see the movie “Lee Daniel’s The Butler” …. mixed feelings on that movie. I really should never listen to what other people say about such and such movies because then I get a vision in my head and think I will experience the same thing. In this case, I did not. I wanted the movie to be all about being a White House butler and more with the actual Presidents he served under. But I’ll zip it as I do not want to tarnish any one else’s hope in viewing the flick.

But pre-lap band Amy would have ordered the largest, buttery popcorn there at the concession stand and drink the smuggled in soda.

Today, I walked in with smuggled water and we walked into the very obnoxiously loud volumed dark movie theatre, picked our seats and sat down. Then we found out that PLAID is the new fashion and just let out of a huge giggle. Us prairie folk already knew that!!!! To you fancy-pants designers in California and New York! Dakota Territory folks love plaid and flannel and stripes and denim and cowboy boots and so much more….

Afterwards we bought more refried beans and some sweet potatoes to move into my “soft food” stage for the next week. And a big ole thing of Great Value peanut butter … chock full of protein …. and a tub of vanilla protein powder that boosts 20 grams per scoop. With the rest of my three and half days off, I plan to drink protein fruit smoothies for a brunch/lunch … then later on will find something delicious in my cupboards like black beans and puree that with fresh cilantro and other yummy goodnesses.  Let’s not forget all the cucumbers I still have from my friends either.

I also have been not drinking any type of hydrating liquid an hour prior to eating my “meal” and waiting a full hour afterwards now before drinking any hydrating liquids. And I’m not drinking any high calorie sucking drinks throughout the day. What I am drinking is green iced tea, hot green tea, water and water with Crystal Light or generic MIO.

And my healing process is going better than expected. What I wasn’t expecting was all the pain that came with the massive poking my surgeon ended up having to do — since my scar tissue was so massive. But I survived it and life has gone on regardless as it should.

*****

For more information about why I need to eat and drink the required liquids and soft foods, go to this website http://www.livestrong.com/article/354394-diets-for-lap-band-patients/

Solid Foods

When your lap band has been filled to start restricting the emptying of food into your stomach, certain guidelines are needed to prevent complications. The new pouch above your lap band is designed to act as a reservoir for food. Thoroughly chewing your food pieces to toothpaste consistency allows the gradual emptying of your pouch into your stomach. Any incompletely chewed pieces of food can clog your band, preventing food from emptying out. Drinking water and waiting to see if the food piece passes is standard procedure. Solid foods are tolerated best when served with a broth to help keep them moist. Meats can dry out quickly with your new prolonged eating time. Dry meats usually are not tolerated well and can cause nausea and vomiting.

Dietary Focus

Your eating plan after surgery is going to center around protein, high fiber foods and limiting fats and sugars. Focusing on meats, vegetables, fruits and grains in that order prevents you from overeating on empty calories. Limiting grains also prevents you from filling up on foods that are low in protein, but also potentially high in sugar, fat and lower in nutrient value due to filling your pouch so quickly. Your new meals consist of a volume limited to ¼ to ¾ cup in volume, so maximizing your nutrition is your best option to promote weight loss.

Restrictions

To prevent food from emptying out too rapidly from your pouch, all liquids should be avoided 1 to 2 hours after meals to help you feel full from meals and prevent between-meal snacking. Avoid dried fruit; tough meats; stringy vegetables like sweet potatoes, celery and pineapple; fruit and vegetable skins, such as apples, pears, grapes and corn; nuts and seeds. These foods can get caught in your lap band opening, causing you to go to the emergency room to remove the offending food item.

*****
Tomorrow and for the week to come on soft pureed foods, I welcome you with wide open arms! I shall continue to make good choices and I will continue to take one day at a time as God allows me to live each and every day to the fullest. Peace out, Amy
Author: kirtepa

My 8-year quest of being BANDED finally happened on June 27, 2012!!! While it will be nice to shed some pounds, my number one goal is to get HEALTHY ... And to get off ALL my diabetic meds and not have to rely on my CPAP at night and for naps. A few years back I made a decision to only surround myself with positive people and I have never looked back. At times I may be snarky perhaps a little wonky and I will apologize right now if I offend anyone as I blog about my life as I know it. Peace & love to all of my wonderful supporters.

Leave a Reply

