Bohemian Burble

= A socially unconventional person.

Bowling Alley Diners

Leave a comment

imagesWe have returned from visiting the State Fair in my lovely state of South Dakota and had quite the whirlwind of eating and drinking and everything in between.

After arriving at our motel, we headed out to find a Perkins, where I knew I’d be safe with their soup. But Huron, SD, does not have a Perkins or a Fryin’ Pan or any type of Country Kitchen type of restaurant in their fair village. Locals at a gas station told me to … “Go over the river, spot the giant rooster and take a right.” We followed those exact directions and we came upon a bowling alley claiming “fine dining.”

The only thing that my lap band could eat was the soup and salad bar. And that is what I opted for. I made one trip for the salad bar and two trips for their delicious (for realz) shredded beef chili with rice — cups of soup. And I was full.

We hooked up with someone from our past who graciously allowed us to spend a free night in her extended motel and by early morning we were gone. I did escaped from eating anything deep-fried at the Fair … too. After we left, we headed over to one of their grocery stores and ate at their restaurant inside. I opted for a chicken and lettuce wrap in a spinach tortilla. That too was really yummy and filling.

We also got in a lot of walking the fair grounds and I had to stand a lot during my time showcasing my art. Today, my poor left ankle/leg felt the pain from standing most of the 7 hours on the hard cement floor and walking on uneven ground outside. It’ll be good as new tomorrow after I wake up.

I was extremely grateful to my two cousins for stopping to see me and my mom and six of my Bon Homme County friends. It was certainly an adventure that I will not forget for a long long time. And I left the Fair with a brand new pull-over SOUTH DAKOTA embroidered hoodie from a couple from Minnesota … (dirt cheap as they did not want to take any back to Minnesota) … and some socks.

I am proud of following ALL OF THE LAP BAND rules this past weekend and I shall continue to follow them.

Oh the photo of the Roma tomatoes up top…. my wonderful and generous coworker brought me a box of these beauties to make into fresh salsa tomorrow and Wednesday (my days off) … me and my band thanked her numerous times. And the bonus was, down by the time clock tonight, someone left a lot of cucumbers too.

Just what my lap band belly ordered. Peace out.

Author: kirtepa

My 8-year quest of being BANDED finally happened on June 27, 2012!!! While it will be nice to shed some pounds, my number one goal is to get HEALTHY ... And to get off ALL my diabetic meds and not have to rely on my CPAP at night and for naps. A few years back I made a decision to only surround myself with positive people and I have never looked back. At times I may be snarky perhaps a little wonky and I will apologize right now if I offend anyone as I blog about my life as I know it. Peace & love to all of my wonderful supporters.

Leave a Reply

