Bohemian Burble

= A socially unconventional person.

I Love My Shrinking Self!

2 Comments

bargainsFor some bizzaro reason, God woke me up at 9:17AM … this morning. Not a normal ‘sleep in’ time for me when I do not have to work. But I got up. The stuff that I was soaking in my bath tub in a generic Clorox mix was done drying … and I tooled around for a while pondering my next thought.

I grabbed a large garbage bag and proceeded to stuff it with clothes I have been hoarding for years and years and years, some over a decade long. Thankfully they are now ALL TOO BIG to even wear as pajamas. And I got rid of all the shoes that are now TOO BIG for my shrinking feet too. And man, that felt soooo good to purge my closets like that.

We have a local bargain shop here in my village where they literally give out all of the proceeds collected to Bon Homme County folks/organizations/schools, etc … $83,000 since they opened. And it’s all run by volunteers. Today my mom and I volunteered to hang up Fall clothes. While doing so with two other volunteers … I kept finding gorgeous Fall long sleeve jackets or shirts in my now shrinking size too. Each item was $3.00 bucks.

One sweater had a tag of $55.50 on it … gorgeous gorgeous gorgeous … and for $3 bucks… that was so mine … along with about 7 other items of clothing. And what I love about my latest purchase … They are all from expensive stores. I have only shopped at plus size stores like Lane Bryant, Catherine’s and online at Roaman’s, Woman Within, One Stop Plus … to name a few that I no longer buying from. And here I bought great clothing from CJ Banks, Cold Water Creek to name a few… Either they were brand new with the tags or the shirts/jackets looked brand new and never worn. Now all I need is cold temps 🙂 And I’ll be set for the next couple of months…. And the kicker for me .. next year at this time, all of these amazing pieces of clothing will be on someone else. I literally can feel myself growing smaller and smaller each and every day.

So let me tell all of you …. a year and half ago and beyond … I would either buy in bulk (aka if one shirt fit in one color, I’d scoop them all up in all the rest of the colors in the same size) or I’d buy sight unseen (aka online plus size catalogs) …. I mean I could see them online but had no idea how the material felt in my hands or looked on my large body.100_0488

Once home, I made my lunch (see photo to the right). This was my actual lunch. It’s a baked potato with fresh garden Roma tomatoes … and I put on a dollop of plain Greek yogurt. What you don’t see is … I maybe took four bites of both tomato and potato and now I’m full.

Yes, I cannot believe it either. I mean for goodness sakes people. I have three-fourths of my lunch left on the styrofoam plate. I shall put the tomatoes into another bowl as I plan on making homemade salsa later on today or tomorrow.

Back to the clothing purchase this morning…. Prior to my lap band surgery, I hated shopping in public. H A T E D it. I hated going into the plus size stores, with the plus size workers, assuming things about me, judging me, saying inappropriate things to me about my size …I’d be fuming on the inside while desperately trying to keep it all honed in (in silence) while I looked and looked and looked for something to fit me. Majority of the times, I would walk out with new earrings or new underwear or a new bra … because I knew those would fit.

Today, while I still obviously need to lose a lot more weight, it felt so liberating to (1) be in the public around locals; (2) commenting on how nice the clothes were on me in the public mirror for all to see; (3) and getting overly excited like a 6-year-old going on the “big kid” ride at the carnival.

Life is good.

Author: kirtepa

My 8-year quest of being BANDED finally happened on June 27, 2012!!! While it will be nice to shed some pounds, my number one goal is to get HEALTHY ... And to get off ALL my diabetic meds and not have to rely on my CPAP at night and for naps. A few years back I made a decision to only surround myself with positive people and I have never looked back. At times I may be snarky perhaps a little wonky and I will apologize right now if I offend anyone as I blog about my life as I know it. Peace & love to all of my wonderful supporters.

2 thoughts on “I Love My Shrinking Self!

  1. Hey I’m good 🙂 but thanks for thinking of me!!!

  2. If you want to e-mail me your current clothing size, as I’m moving into smaller clothes I can send you a few things. I can take photos if you want. I’ve been trying to decide what to do with some of my nicer things (like my Chicos) and have been thinking I might try a consignment shop. But I’d love to give them to someone I “know”. I’ll send a PM.

Leave a Reply

