Bohemian Burble

= A socially unconventional person.

I Don’t Mean To Be Ungrateful But…

1 Comment

clothesSo since I started shrinking in size, way before I had my lap band surgery and especially NOW, 126 pounds down … and thankfully back down to the size I was in 1995 — for those of you who knew me back then — and all … I have been very grateful for those who have sent me clothes via mail and suggested I go on a shopping trip with them, on their dime … and whatnot….

Now that I can be picky … I would like to be able to buy my own shrinking clothes. I realize my transformation is far from being over but I do not want anyone’s “too big” of clothes that THEY no longer can wear due to their weight loss success.

About a year ago at this time frame, I had met a lady online who had the lap band surgery about the same time as mine. And she offered to mail me a box chock full of her “too big” clothing items including several coats. She told me the brand she mostly wore was from Old Navy. Up till that moment, the only thing I knew about Old Navy was their funky commercials featuring Morgan Fairchild.

Well the ginormous box came .. and my mom and I opened it up like it was Christmas morning…. only to find that NONE of its contents would fit me then or even now. I felt sooooo guilty for accepting this donation because we saw how much this person spent in postage alone!!!! Crikey!!!! But I hung it all up. And now a year later… I still cannot wear any of them. And I totally hate the material of said clothing given to me lovingly. It’s style I would never have ever bought for myself. Period. Again the guilt for accepting them is so overwhelming to me. Right now, I still do not have the heart to give them away either.

So a local recently had her lap band done as well. And she even asked me if I would like her “too big” clothes. No thank you. And a kind blogger I recently met through my blog also asked…… I’m good I said, but thanks for thinking of me. Seriously. Thank you. 😉

However, the real reason for declining someone else’s closet is this …..

I ABSOLUTELY LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE the fact I am shrinking all on my own — through eating healthy and exercising. I feel I have earned the right to be picky myself. I do not want to be someone’s “donation.” And I’m trying my hardest to make that sound good. But obviously it is coming out as me being ungrateful, even bitchy.

I want to be able to PICK OUT MY OWN shrinking clothing size too. The other day at the local thrift store, I had sooooo much fun picking out the 8 much smaller sizes and buying them for three bucks a piece. And fully knowing that when I am done with them too, I will give them back to the same thrift store that helped me out, so someone can find joy in them too.

The “new” clothes I recently bought, I hope will only last through the Autumn and Winter season here on the vast prairie I call home. And next Spring, I will be a much smaller size … and I’ll hit up the racks of all the thrift stores near and far looking for “my style,” that I will pick myself.

Between 2010 and present day, since I moved to the current village I currently call home … I have literally given thousands of dollars away in plus sized clothing … about 2 full car loads went to a family of three — all of which are all plus-sized… and the other clothes I had rid my house of, have been given to the local thrift store in town too.

I am all about paying it forward …. so my suggestion would be … donate your “too big” clothes to a local thrift store or a local homeless/domestic violence shelter for women and children or ask your church if they are doing a clothing drive. I know in Yankton, South Dakota, at the mental hospital, you can donate clothes there for their patients to wear … too.

But really, I’m good. And thank you for thinking of me 🙂 Peace always, Amy

Author: kirtepa

My 8-year quest of being BANDED finally happened on June 27, 2012!!! While it will be nice to shed some pounds, my number one goal is to get HEALTHY ... And to get off ALL my diabetic meds and not have to rely on my CPAP at night and for naps. A few years back I made a decision to only surround myself with positive people and I have never looked back. At times I may be snarky perhaps a little wonky and I will apologize right now if I offend anyone as I blog about my life as I know it. Peace & love to all of my wonderful supporters.

One thought on “I Don’t Mean To Be Ungrateful But…

  1. I don’t blame you for wanting to pick out your own clothes and you don’t sound ungrateful at all! In fact, you sound incredibly grateful for the box the lady gave you and grateful for how you are changing your life!!

Leave a Reply

