Bohemian Burble

= A socially unconventional person.

How Could I Have Missed This???

1 Comment

Peanut Butter.PEANUT

I like peanut butter sandwiches but with my lap band, bread is basically forbidden. And I only like peanut butter on soft white bread. Not fried. Not even toasted. But good ‘ol soft white bread. Instead of bread, I’ve been eating it off a spoon. That’s it. But the other day, out of not wanting to continue to pick out seeds from frozen berries that I have been putting into my protein smoothies … Sunday, I opted to put in a heaping amount of crunchy peanut butter with my 20 grams of vanilla whey protein powder and my 2% milk.

PLAY THAT FUNKY MUSIC WHITE BOY — OH MY GOODNESS, OH MY GOODNESS — Pure heaven all swished together in my lovely little Magic Bullet blender.

In the year and now four months after the fact of my lap band surgery, why on earth has no one told me about the delicious combo of the said above ingredients??? Cowabunga dudes … That mixture is serious awesome tasting and so so so healthy for me. I simply cannot get enough of this magical concoction.

Tonight, I was at a church function with my good friends and my mom .. .and I shared this secret I discovered… only to find out that one of my health-nut pals has been drinking this golden goodness all along!!!! So so so so so so good.

At this church dealio, it was to hear one of our favorite doctors speak about his 14 years of going to service the folks in need in Haiti. Before he spoke, we all ate a “buffet style” of salads, cheese and crackers, a few kolaches (a Czech thing) and some dill pickles!!!!

I had been really careful the last couple of days with just drinking the peanut butter smoothies — and believe me, they were keeping me very full throughout the days … So this evening was the first since this past weekend that I had eaten “real food.”

Again, my OLD AMY WAYS came out in full force and I piled my plate full of like 20 different salads. I got back to our shared table and realized I could only eat about 5 forkfuls of anything. And I felt really nervous with inquiring eyes on me and my massive plate of food. I did have to excuse myself just once but thankfully my very understanding friend got me a styrofoam container to slide my food right on in it for later. Good thinking on her part!!!

After the lecture, I scooted home to finally have a loose enough band to finish eating or eating about a fourth more of the food. The rest is hanging out in my fridge for perhaps, tomorrow.

35oy0zI also made sure I drank a good half-gallon of ice water too (after the allotted one hour).

Tomorrow I am taking my little Ford Focus over to Vermillion (SD) to a consignment store … and guess what I am selling??? Seven boxes of my “too big” over sized, plus sized clothing and too big of shoes for my now shrinking feet.

I mean come on people … most of the overweight people I have known and I, of course, participated in that Club … we never ever gave away our plus sized clothing. Never. Ever.

In the past, I would simply box it up in a plastic tub with a thick sturdy lid and put it in my mom’s garage high up on a shelf … or in the deep deep hole in the back of my closet to wait. And sit. And wait some more. You know… just in case, you do gain the weight back or well, yes, in case I did gain the weight back. There would be the “new” clothes happily waiting for us.

But not this time. Nope. This time I’m sticking to the plan. I am actually feeling a little nervous knowing my car is completely filled to the roof of stuff that I have been hoarding for years and years and years. I think once I reach Vermillion — an hour away — once I sign the consignment contract and unload my “old self” …..once I get back home and realize there are no more “fat” clothes sitting and waiting for me …. I think, no, I HOPE I will feel jubilated.

Author: kirtepa

My 8-year quest of being BANDED finally happened on June 27, 2012!!! While it will be nice to shed some pounds, my number one goal is to get HEALTHY ... And to get off ALL my diabetic meds and not have to rely on my CPAP at night and for naps. A few years back I made a decision to only surround myself with positive people and I have never looked back. At times I may be snarky perhaps a little wonky and I will apologize right now if I offend anyone as I blog about my life as I know it. Peace & love to all of my wonderful supporters.

One thought on “How Could I Have Missed This???

  1. mmmmmm peanut butter! I’ve been putting it in some of my smoothies but I’ll have to just try the vanilla whey and plain milk!

    I gave away a bag of some of my favorite “big girl” clothes to my younger sister, who is now 10 lbs heavier than me (but she’s also two inches taller.) The rest of the stack I’ve been collecting for consignment is sitting on top of my dresser. Waiting for a full box 🙂

Leave a Reply

