Bohemian Burble

= A socially unconventional person.

Pickle Me Loco

Leave a comment

thToday’s post should come at no surprise to anyone who truly knows me. And I have never quite understood how my true love for dill pickles came to be but boy oh boy, I sure do love me some homemade canned dill pickles. And homemade refrigerator pickles. Store dill pickles rate high up there too and spicy dill pickles, oh my.

Last night, my mom, stopped by, and brought me more of her delicious homemade dill pickles that she canned this past August. It was not a large amount she brought but I pretty much cleaned out the entire little container that they had come in.

Which brings me to this weird confusion…. Most solid foods my lap band can tolerate are not anything close to the hardness of the average hard dill pickle. Soups go down wonderfully well. Potatoes, tomatoes, cucumbers, celery, carrots… yes, if cooked well, they are swell too. Hamburger, as long as it is grilled or fried well done, my lap band and I are besties. Sausage cut up and cooked well, awesome. But meat that I have to chew and chew and chew, not so much. And same with potato chips, french fries, tater tots…. anything deep fat fried … has not really touched my lips in a very very very long time. And along these lines, one would assume that I could not, would not even attempt to nibble on anything pickled. But my lap band LOVES all things dill pickled. Loco? Perhaps….

adjective
/’ləυkəυ/ /’ləυkəυ/
adjective, orig USMad, crazy. (1887 —) .
D. Francis He’d been quietly going loco and making hopeless decisions (1965).[From Spanish loco mad.]

Author: kirtepa

My 8-year quest of being BANDED finally happened on June 27, 2012!!! While it will be nice to shed some pounds, my number one goal is to get HEALTHY ... And to get off ALL my diabetic meds and not have to rely on my CPAP at night and for naps. A few years back I made a decision to only surround myself with positive people and I have never looked back. At times I may be snarky perhaps a little wonky and I will apologize right now if I offend anyone as I blog about my life as I know it. Peace & love to all of my wonderful supporters.

Leave a Reply

