Bohemian Burble

= A socially unconventional person.

Slipping Somewhat

Leave a comment

6814963799_b967e68a96_zI wanted to quickly jot a post just to say I am still alive but the steam I had blowing six weeks ago feels like I do not have much left till it expires. The steam. Not me.

Today was just absolutely grueling. And I’m exhausted. Mostly emotionally exhausted. A very good friend of mine took a nap on Sunday afternoon and he passed away peacefully as a result of his exhausted nap. He wasn’t sick. And nothing was wrong with him. But … his beloved wife died earlier this year … and his adult children told me tonight at this Wake that he missed her terribly. And my friend led a very fruitful life too. He just turned 90 years young on October 16th.

He was one of my very best art mentors and my partner in crime for nine seasons for mens city league basketball in Yankton, South Dakota from 2001 to 2009. I was the bookkeeper and he ran the scoreboard. Oh the fun we had. And the laughs.

So I went to say so long to him today. I thought I’d just pop in and pop out … but I happened to be the second person to show up besides family. I wasn’t expecting all the emotions to come rolling out of my body when I saw his video tribute or all of this wonderful sculptures and family photos.

But I just stood there and sobbed. I just thought about writing him this past weekend too … something happened a week ago Wednesday and I had run into one of our former basketball players from Santee, Nebraska. He would have gotten a good chuckle out of my meeting with an old acquaintance too.

After the fanfare of his funeral is over with, I will go find his grave and tell him in person. I know spirits exist and I know he’ll get a good chortle out of what I have to tell him too.

As for my lap band eating habits … It’s not that I have slipped any and or cheated because that has NOT been the case. But …. I’m nervously snacking when I am not hungry and I know it’s because I have a thousand million thoughts going on and certain things have not been solved like I would have already thought WOULD have happened already. And I’m more nervous with my wandering thoughts but it is better than igniting my anxiety levels like when I was trapped in that awful misfit job I once had.

Something HAS GOT TO GIVE. Soon. The slippery slopes have been eating away at me. In more ways than just through my belly.

Author: kirtepa

My 8-year quest of being BANDED finally happened on June 27, 2012!!! While it will be nice to shed some pounds, my number one goal is to get HEALTHY ... And to get off ALL my diabetic meds and not have to rely on my CPAP at night and for naps. A few years back I made a decision to only surround myself with positive people and I have never looked back. At times I may be snarky perhaps a little wonky and I will apologize right now if I offend anyone as I blog about my life as I know it. Peace & love to all of my wonderful supporters.

Leave a Reply

