Bohemian Burble

= A socially unconventional person.

Unbelievable

Leave a comment

622Fifteen days ago, my life once again, changed for the better. How much better you may ponder? Bunches and bunches better. I am still shocked as to how much better God has allowed me to be this content. And in more ways than one.

But what I wasn’t expecting was …. this nugget: Being able to bounce back after standing on my feet 8 hours a day, every day, for five straight days.

Remember when I was 130 pounds bigger? I barely could walk a block without being out of breath and winded. Side pain would occur. My back would ache and oh my gosh, my legs and feet. Ached for a day or two.

Even when the weight started to come off… and I built up my speed for walking and then even standing…. and remember me talking about my wonky left ankle???

A year ago this month, I took up a part-time gig at a local convenience store a few blocks from my apartment complex. I would work 4 or 5 hour shifts with it all being on my feet. Yes I purchased new Asics and at times would wear my very cushioned Crocs … I did a lot of bending and walking and standing and lifting… and I’d always go home sore to the core … and the next day, I’d be limping … again because of my wonky left ankle that was whacked off when I was three.

So when I was offered my position 16 days ago… they told me what I’d be doing and yes I would be standing majority of my 8 hour shift. Yes, I could sit when there was nothing to do but …. I really wanted to work there so I said yes.

And I took it one day at a time. Literally. For my feet and my legs. One day at a time.

I also prayed a lot about what was ahead of me. I ordered a new pair of gel Asics. I bought comfortable thin black socks and bought black pants (part of my new uniform) … And then I performed the exercises above. Before going to sleep… sometimes during sleep.. and when I woke up.

I also did the exercises more so on my wonky left ankle and leg, in my car, on my way to work. While I am standing at my said computer, on the job, I do the exercises. And when I do find the time to sit down. More feet aerobics.

I contacted one of my favorite PA-C’s … and told her the ditty… and she just said (1) get good shoes; and (2) take Tylenol.

BRAVO!

On top of the foot exercises, I am popping a few generic Tylenol throughout my 8-shifts … and drum roll….

I HAVE HAD ZERO ANKLE/FOOT PAIN and NO LEFT LEG numbness or sharp pains in 15 days. At. All.

Not only am I totally thrilled by this but I find it to be an actual miracle from God.

HE knew I have always wanted a fun safe place to work. And I got that fifteen days ago. I also have not stopped exercising since I got the lap band surgery done in June 2012. At. All. HE knows I talk to him daily and pray several times a day.

At times, my left foot feels tight but I pamper it by taking baths and doing the stretches above. And walking on it with proper shoes. I am also very thankful for my wonderful support team of friends and acquaintances on my lap band journey. A year ago, I would never have lasted 15 days on my feet, or even 10, or 5 days in a row.

I can feel myself getting stronger every day.

Author: kirtepa

My 8-year quest of being BANDED finally happened on June 27, 2012!!! While it will be nice to shed some pounds, my number one goal is to get HEALTHY ... And to get off ALL my diabetic meds and not have to rely on my CPAP at night and for naps. A few years back I made a decision to only surround myself with positive people and I have never looked back. At times I may be snarky perhaps a little wonky and I will apologize right now if I offend anyone as I blog about my life as I know it. Peace & love to all of my wonderful supporters.

Leave a Reply

