Bohemian Burble

= A socially unconventional person.

Every Tom, Dick & Harry…

Leave a comment

Angry_MobBefore I get in to the heart of this post, I did make excellent food choices for my meals today.

Lunch was late and I ate less than a half of a small child’s plate of a spinach, onion, bacon, egg bake.

Around 5:30pm, at work, I had a blueberry Greek yogurt with “real fruit” in the bottom (ooooh). And about 5 medium size cheese curds (Thank you Dimock, South Dakota). And tonight, I drank plenty of black tea (iced) to keep me “alert,” on Day 2, of six days of my crazy work schedule. Remember, on Day 7, I am officially taking residency in my new apartment across the village.

As my stress level fully hit full throttle this lovely fine evening at work… I embarked on eating a small orange and a couple handfuls of peanuts in the shell.  So you can see I really did make wonderful food choices today despite what all took place during my 8 hour shift at work.

Basically all was swell till 6-ish PM (CST). Then all hell broke loose. Or in layman’s terms… our main two computers where we give all the free monies, make new cards, basically do all of our computer work for all of our eager guests went buh-bye as in oopsies…. I’m shutting down for the rest of the night….zzzzzzz. Many many phone calls, a lot of extra people called in on their night off … one was over an hour away at a late Christmas party; another one’s family member just passed away today … other coworkers stepped in to help … to no avail. When I left at 12:08AM, they were still not up.

And in between then and now … Every Tom, Dick and Harry and a few Mable’s … were not happy campers. At. All. Or. At. Me.

Once upon a time, I was a lowly bill collector for a major credit card company. I took my share of disgruntled customer phone calls for six long years. Yes yes indeed. But tonight’s angst-ridden ones were face to face. In my face.

Like it was MY FAULT, the computer system was down.

But alas… a silver lining. Someone from that ill-fated credit card company came as a late guest. I recognized her immediately as she and I were once upon a time on the same “team.” ….She had no idea who I was.

When I introduced myself … the look on her face was simply priceless. And, for a mere second, I forgot about all those angry Dicks.

She said she would never have recognized me had I not introduced myself. She said I was a “new person.” I agreed. I told her I lost an entire person — over 130 pounds now … I love seeing people’s reactions like this.

In fact, the very last time I saw this particular human was in 2009, when I was at my heaviest. And I was never smiling or laughing or even enjoying life. At. All.

I’m now home, listening to Adele on jango.com and eating more shelled peanuts. I’m trying to calm myself down by playing Lexulous on facebook and trying to convince myself that tomorrow is a new day, except it is already tomorrow.

And I still need to sleep.

But dammit, I made outstanding food choices today by golly.

Author: kirtepa

My 8-year quest of being BANDED finally happened on June 27, 2012!!! While it will be nice to shed some pounds, my number one goal is to get HEALTHY ... And to get off ALL my diabetic meds and not have to rely on my CPAP at night and for naps. A few years back I made a decision to only surround myself with positive people and I have never looked back. At times I may be snarky perhaps a little wonky and I will apologize right now if I offend anyone as I blog about my life as I know it. Peace & love to all of my wonderful supporters.

Leave a Reply

