Bohemian Burble

= A socially unconventional person.

Disposing of Old Things

Leave a comment

8231323-winter-jacket-filled-with-real-goose-downYesterday I bought a new winter coat. In a much smaller size. And it was fitted. As in to my body, fitted. It’s short and form-fitting and it is so unlike any other winter coat I have sported for a good 15 years. I also bought it on clearance. My favorite kind of buy. It was $109 originally and I purchased it for a whopping $17.99. Thank you Shopko.

I wasn’t expecting the coat to fit when I sheepishly tried it on. I had hopes it would fit around the shoulders but never thought it would fit and look good on. But it did.

The winter coat that I have been wearing since 1999 … was also bought on clearance at Cabella’s in Mitchell (SD) and it was HUGE and blue and HUGE and could fit at least another person in there and several coats and shirts underneath it. And I hung on to it for fifteen years. It was always my “go to coat.” Sure I had other coats between that one … all were also huge and cumbersome. And usually ugly. I never found anything “stylish” like the one I bought yesterday. And oh how pleased I am. Now.

I also decided to purge myself of other ill-fitting clothes and household goods that no longer seem necessary to hang on to. I decided that I did not want to submit some other overweight human with my purging so everything I rid my home and self of are now sitting nicely on the curb waiting for the garbage man to kindly dispose of tomorrow early morning while I am at work. I mean, after 15 years, I think it is due time to say a proper farewell to the big heavy blue coat and not allow another human to sport it unless they decide to go dump diving. Same with my other treasures.

It is okay to purge and not pay it forward.

Author: kirtepa

My 8-year quest of being BANDED finally happened on June 27, 2012!!! While it will be nice to shed some pounds, my number one goal is to get HEALTHY ... And to get off ALL my diabetic meds and not have to rely on my CPAP at night and for naps. A few years back I made a decision to only surround myself with positive people and I have never looked back. At times I may be snarky perhaps a little wonky and I will apologize right now if I offend anyone as I blog about my life as I know it. Peace & love to all of my wonderful supporters.

Leave a Reply

