Bohemian Burble

= A socially unconventional person.

My fascination with peanut butter

Leave a comment

chia-seeds-in-a-bowlSo since I moved, I’ve been having a hard time trying to fit in my daily dose of Chia seeds and ground Flax seeds. Before I had plenty of ways to fit in both to many of my meals and smoothies. But I had made a decision, once settled, in new location, I’d scale back on what I’d be buying for food to fill my cupboard and fridge/freezer.

Prior to moving here, I’d buy a lot and in bulk at times because I lived 30 miles away from WalMart and HyVee. My then, local store, only carried certain things I could tolerate and eat. And it was also a lot more expensive. Now that I am literally three blocks from WalMart, I’m just buying what I need for that week. And I’ve been lacking with creating my yummy smoothies for protein purposes.

Last week I ended up picking up a 6-pack of Greek Yogurt for $5.00 versus buying each one for a buck a piece. I normally stick with blueberry, black cherry, vanilla and strawberry for my go-to flavors. I’ve tried other flavors but most make me gag or they taste like soap.

I was feeling adventurous and bought a six-pack of strawberry cheesecake and raspberry chocolate. I seriously do not know what the heck I was thinking!!!

I brought it home and tried the raspberry chocolate immediately. As in that particular flavor literally made me gag.

Gack.ass

It was gross and I felt annoyed that I had two left and how on earth would I consume it. I love Greek Yogurt for its protein content. As a lap bander, we need to find all the protein possible in all of our meals, to help us keep full. And I’m usually always full throughout the day but I do plan carefully what I put in my cart, et cetera.

I also found out that drinking milk of any percentage does not agree with my body anymore. So I have been very careful when I do consume it. The other day, when I bought the raspberry chocolate Greek yogurt, I also bought a half-gallon on 2% (the only kind I can tolerate).

For supper tonight, I made a peanut butter, raspberry chocolate Greek yogurt, a scoop of 30 grams of vanilla whey protein, a teaspoon of Chia seeds, a teaspoon of ground Flax seeds with using a small ice-cube smoothie. Actually I made a double batch to give me some energy and just kick-start me back into making sure I get both the Chia and Flax seeds back into my routine.

The results? Very very peanut-buttery smoothie…and the Chia seeds are getting stuck in my teeth. I think I made it a bit too peanut-buttery though. Lesson learned: make one allowed amount of smoothie first and foremost. If I want another one, I will THEN make a second smoothie.

I’m trying to just suck it all down with a big ole straw but the final suck shoots up a big helping of peanut butter goo… again, I love my peanut butter but apparently not so much in liquid form.

Weird post I know. But it is what it is. MAKE GOOD CHOICES PEOPLE!!!

Author: kirtepa

My 8-year quest of being BANDED finally happened on June 27, 2012!!! While it will be nice to shed some pounds, my number one goal is to get HEALTHY ... And to get off ALL my diabetic meds and not have to rely on my CPAP at night and for naps. A few years back I made a decision to only surround myself with positive people and I have never looked back. At times I may be snarky perhaps a little wonky and I will apologize right now if I offend anyone as I blog about my life as I know it. Peace & love to all of my wonderful supporters.

Leave a Reply

