Bohemian Burble

= A socially unconventional person.

Keeping it healthy

Leave a comment

10592682_1627197037507023_4692965528310889047_nMy mom was concerned I wasn’t keeping my diet healthy. When I had to drive back and forth to Yankton originally for my said job at the time, I tried packing a sack lunch but I never got around to eating that packed lunch till around 8pm or later so at that point, I would run thru a drive-thru of some fast food place and get something like yogurt and fruit or chicken tenders. I never ordered anything like a meal deal of that sorts because I’m not fond of soda pop or French fries. Both wreck havoc on my lap band. And it’s mega painful to eat cut up potatoes when forcing it down my chute.

So the other night, we were talking about what I am eating now, two weeks in to living in Yankton. I assured her I rely mostly on Greek yogurts, apples and peanut butter and plenty of soft cheeses with saltines or mashed sweet potatoes. I am also solely drinking iced green tea or just Yankton tap water.

When I downsized before this move, I got rid of all the endless amounts of pots and pans that always went unused. So now I just own a small pot for soups, a small wok for my stir fry options and a small pan to bake chicken in. And I have a small crock pot to make hot dips in or what have you.

But what I forgot to mention to her and everyone else… if you want to keep on the healthy lifestyle and don’t feel much like cooking on the stove… The image above is something I always have in my freezer. These babies cost as little as $1.98 at any given WalMart stores. I had a freezer full up til recently. You steam it in the microwave and out comes a piping hot of yummy and healthy veggies. I’m not a meat fan — will eat chicken or pork from time to time but I mostly fill up on vegetables, fruits and peanut buttery goodness. Again, it is so perfect for one person and it totally fills me up.

Again it’s all about baby steps. And making good food choices. Add in some extra walking or basically any type of movement of your body… and call it a day.

Tomorrow is always a new day to start fresh. Carry on.

Author: kirtepa

My 8-year quest of being BANDED finally happened on June 27, 2012!!! While it will be nice to shed some pounds, my number one goal is to get HEALTHY ... And to get off ALL my diabetic meds and not have to rely on my CPAP at night and for naps. A few years back I made a decision to only surround myself with positive people and I have never looked back. At times I may be snarky perhaps a little wonky and I will apologize right now if I offend anyone as I blog about my life as I know it. Peace & love to all of my wonderful supporters.

Leave a Reply

