Bohemian Burble

= A socially unconventional person.

Post 400: Strawberry Goodness

Leave a comment

imagesJ61IF995I had to waste some time this morning and I ended up in the Health Market at HyVee. I had just ran out of my vanilla whey protein powder the day before and wanted to change-up the flavor to the no flavor kind. The flavors HyVee offered was Cinnamon, Strawberry, Chocolate Peanut Butter and Chocolate. Up until my surgery, I was only using Vanilla. I had a sample taste of the no flavor protein powder but again that wasn’t available today. I figured since I had a freezer full of fruit — mostly berries and whole strawberries — I would try the large container of the Strawberry Protein Whey Powder.

It was a little more spendy than at WalMart but since I was already at HyVee, I decided to just try this brand, this flavor and see how this all goes. I am on my second glass of this strawberry goodness in a smoothie. I also added two tablespoons of Chia Seeds. Chia Seeds have zero flavor but they do add so much to your diet. I’ve been putting Chia Seeds in my foods since 2011. And only until most recently have I been adding ground flaxseed to some of my smoothies.

Today is my 400th post to my blog. I started my blog in June 2012. I’ve tried to religiously post on here… at least in the very beginning I blogged almost daily. I need to still hold myself accountable to my actions of eating and drinking, so I am going to be making a huge effort to keep this blog on track.

And speaking of drinking… one of the biggest rules that I have strictly followed by my surgeon is: DO NOT DRINK LIQUID CALORIES!!!! I thought he was somewhat joking when he first told me this. But what you put in your pie hole, whether it is food or liquids … it ALL matters and it ALL counts as calories.

From August 11, 2014 to present day, I have literally had 1 glass of soda pop: Sprite Zero. And that was only because I had an upset stomach and I drank it warm. Otherwise, I’ve consumed gallons and gallons of tap water and bottled water or Culligan water… green tea (both hot/cold) and a variety of other herbal teas, both hot and cold. And in the past week, I’ve consumed six Smirnoff Ice Watermelon Mimosa’s gleefully. I’ve had a few cups of coffee at work which was free and a few cappuccino’s … otherwise, I just bring along my peppermint tea bags from home and get hot tap water from our coffee machines and go that route. But water is what I love the most.

This morning at HyVee, I ran into an old acquaintance from 2001 … I said hi first. She had to look at me twice then she said, had I not said hi first, she never would have recognized me. I will never tire of hearing comments like this. In another section of the market… I ran into an old boss, also from 2000-2001. He said, “looking good, Amy.” …. I lit up like a Christmas tree with extra sparkly lights.

All my hard work is finally paying off. And I cannot even begin to tell you how good this makes me feel. Day 5 of the new year… new beginnings and I just ate supper which consisted of 40 ounces of strawberry protein whey powder, and two handfuls of frozen strawberries and water with two tablespoons of HyVee brand of Chia Seeds. I used my Magic Bullet blender and took my time drinking both glasses. For breakfast today, I had a superfood protein bar and for lunch, I had a small white meat chicken Caesar salad from WalMart ($2.98), a small handful of stick pretzels and more Yankton tap water.

Thanks for taking the time to read my mindless banter and again for your ongoing support on my weight loss journey. Remember to never ever ever ever ever give up.

Author: kirtepa

My 8-year quest of being BANDED finally happened on June 27, 2012!!! While it will be nice to shed some pounds, my number one goal is to get HEALTHY ... And to get off ALL my diabetic meds and not have to rely on my CPAP at night and for naps. A few years back I made a decision to only surround myself with positive people and I have never looked back. At times I may be snarky perhaps a little wonky and I will apologize right now if I offend anyone as I blog about my life as I know it. Peace & love to all of my wonderful supporters.

Leave a Reply

