Bohemian Burble

= A socially unconventional person.

Raw Food Eats

Leave a comment

sunflower-seeds-roasted-salted_1By trial and a lot of errors, I have now come to realize after almost three years since my lap band surgery that eating plant-based foods is truly the best option I have to totally succeeding with the weight loss ditty.

By errors, I have learned hard lessons on what type of damage processed foods are truly doing on my body. And I have been adding more and more fruit and veggies to my consumption than ever before.

And how do I feel afterwards? Amazing. Simply ah-maze-balls amazing.

When my cravings for crap wins over, I do eat the said crap just to get it out of my system and then I lay in wait waiting for it to wreak havoc on my body. Not fun. At. All.

My breakfast meals now consist of a baked protein granola bar with some sort of fruit in it and a lot of fiber. If I have more time for a breakfast then I make myself a fruit protein smoothie with water. Milk has proved to be a wicked nightmare on my bowels. So I’ve given up on all milk products…or products that require using milk. Like I eat dry cereal and my body thanks me all day long. If I need to add milk to soup, I buy a different soup now that does not require adding milk.

My lunches usually consist of a small bowl of soup or a small salad. Or I will have another protein fruit smoothie or eat a lot of celery with peanut butter. My snacks consist of peanuts or cashews or Halos.

Then suppertime… if I am hungry, I will make something like another salad or just eat a lot of steamed vegetables. And always, always, my snack during TV shows is sunflower seeds.

Last night I ate at Panera Bread for the very first time. I was flustered as to what to order and literally blurted out a broth bowl with chicken and a side piece of hard bread with Mango ice tea. But going in, I was going to order a bowl of Black Bean soup and a half of some sort of sandwich. Next time.

The other day while fruit shopping, I had bought a nice bunch of bananas, a 4 lb bag of small navel oranges and a 5 lb bag of Delicious red apples. I’ve been trying to have a piece of fruit “raw” with every meal…. I also like to cut up my oranges in several pieces and eat them as a meal too.

I am very proud of myself that I have literally gone 7 full months without having one soda pop. I’ve strictly been drinking water, herbal tea or Powerade/Gatorade after times when I get bad allergy related nose bleeds.

Right now I am seeking recipes on baking veggies or fixing veggies for main meals for supper. If you have any good ones, send them my way!

Keep making good choices.

Author: kirtepa

My 8-year quest of being BANDED finally happened on June 27, 2012!!! While it will be nice to shed some pounds, my number one goal is to get HEALTHY ... And to get off ALL my diabetic meds and not have to rely on my CPAP at night and for naps. A few years back I made a decision to only surround myself with positive people and I have never looked back. At times I may be snarky perhaps a little wonky and I will apologize right now if I offend anyone as I blog about my life as I know it. Peace & love to all of my wonderful supporters.

Leave a Reply

