Bohemian Burble

= A socially unconventional person.

Weight Loss Progress

Leave a comment

fattyamyThis photo was taken at Czech Days in Tabor, SD in June of 2011. I had already lost 50 pounds on my weight loss journey. This was also before my lap band surgery on June 27, 2012.

The red shirt I am wearing in this photo was a 5X … and the shorts, yikes!!!! Also a 5X. For pants, I’m now down to a size 14/16 or an extra large.

To date, I have lost a total of 142 pounds since when I was at my heaviest in June 2009.

And no, I wasn’t ALWAYS overweight. I was a normal thin child … and I yo-yo’d back and forth from my college years and all throughout my 20s and 30s.

It wasn’t until talking to my then provider, Dr. Bonnie Nowak in 2009 that she gave me the harsh reality of my life as I knew it then. She literally said to me: “You have two choices Amy: Either plan your funeral now or get healthy.”

Obviously, I opted for No. 2.

And the rest is all on this blog.

aprilamyI am happy to say I am going at this weight loss ditty very slowly. Unlike gastric bypass, where you literally drop the weight mega rapidly, lap banders go at their own slow turtle like pace. And that’s how I like it.

To the left is my most current photo of me. This was taken on Monday, April 6 at my apartment complex.

In two months marks my 3rd year bandiversary and I couldn’t be more thrilled with all that I’ve learned on this adventure.

Thanks for your support … I couldn’t have done it without my band of friends. I have 60 lbs left to lose before I start my maintenance of never allowing myself to gain weight from eating all the wrong foods out there in processed food land.

Continue to make good choices!

 

Author: kirtepa

My 8-year quest of being BANDED finally happened on June 27, 2012!!! While it will be nice to shed some pounds, my number one goal is to get HEALTHY ... And to get off ALL my diabetic meds and not have to rely on my CPAP at night and for naps. A few years back I made a decision to only surround myself with positive people and I have never looked back. At times I may be snarky perhaps a little wonky and I will apologize right now if I offend anyone as I blog about my life as I know it. Peace & love to all of my wonderful supporters.

Leave a Reply

